Page 1 of 12 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Mysterious vibration in long conduit between solar inverters and main service panel

Mysterious vibration in long conduit between solar inverters and main service panel

Please bear with me as I'm not an electrician but a certified thermographer with more experience in simply identifying electrical anomalies that represent potential issues than actually understanding or mitigating them. I usually just point and say, “ya know, sooner or later the smoke’s gonna come out of that one. You might want to fix that while the guys are off one weekend soon. Either that or stock up on brooms so you can keep ‘em busy during your impending unscheduled shutdown.”

I was called into a 50,000 sf metal commercial building that had a 125kW rooftop solar array installed about two years ago. Over that time a vibration with an audible hum that corresponds to how heavily the system is loaded has developed and according to building occupants continues to get worse with time. Under full sun it’s loud enough in some office spaces to drive occupants away from their desks for the afternoon.

The installing electrician and local utility have both evaluated the system, installed power monitors, etc., and have no idea what’s causing the issue.

The arrays feed into 11 inverters on the south side of the building. The inverters feed into a combiner box that routes 3 phase power via aluminum conductors 250 ft away to an AC Solar Disconnect (ACSD) next to the Main Service Panel (MSP) at the north side of the building. Due to the long distance and several corners the owner elected to use aluminum wire splitting the load across redundant conductors, with a pair of parallel conduits each carrying all three phases, neutral, and ground.

It is along these conduits through the building that the vibration hum is observed.