Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Step Up Transformer

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    853

    Step Up Transformer

    Does Square D / Schneider make a Step Up SINGLE PHASE Transformer with a primary voltage of 120/240v and a Secondary Voltage of 277/480v-1?

    I've been looking through the digest and using the product selector and havent been able to find one.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    26,013
    Do you need both 277 and 480 on the secondary?
    Rob

    Moderator

    All responses based on the 2014 NEC unless otherwise noted

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    853
    No. This is a large warehouse with a 240/1 service but due to the size of the warehouse, I want to use 277v for the high bay lighting.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Durango, CO, 10 h 20 min without traffic from winged horses.
    Posts
    9,765
    You can't get 277V without three phase.
    If you go and decide to dance with a gorilla the dance ain't over till the gorilla decides it's over.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia
    Posts
    23,499
    Quote Originally Posted by Npstewart View Post
    Does Square D / Schneider make a Step Up SINGLE PHASE Transformer with a primary voltage of 120/240v and a Secondary Voltage of 277/480v-1?
    First, you can step 240v up to 277v with a buck-boost. But, why can't you just use the 240v?

    Second, the difference in current between the two probably isn't worth adding the transformer.

    Quote Originally Posted by ActionDave View Post
    You can't get 277V without three phase.
    Sure you can. I found a 120v-to-277v lighting transformer.
    Code references based on 2005 NEC
    Larry B. Fine
    Master Electrician
    Electrical Contractor
    Richmond, VA

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    San Francisco Bay Area, CA, USA
    Posts
    8,106
    Quote Originally Posted by Npstewart View Post
    No. This is a large warehouse with a 240/1 service but due to the size of the warehouse, I want to use 277v for the high bay lighting.
    Pointless exercise, waste of money for the transformer, Just use 240V for the lighting if it’s all new.

    Unless you ALREADY have 277V ballasts / power supplies in your light fixtures, in which case, as mentioned, just get a boost transformer to go 240-277V, it will be less expensive.
    __________________________________________________ ____________________________
    Many people are shocked when they discover I am not a good electrician...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Durango, CO, 10 h 20 min without traffic from winged horses.
    Posts
    9,765
    Quote Originally Posted by LarryFine View Post
    Sure you can. I found a 120v-to-277v lighting transformer.
    Well I'll be. Learned something new.
    If you go and decide to dance with a gorilla the dance ain't over till the gorilla decides it's over.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia
    Posts
    23,499
    Quote Originally Posted by ActionDave View Post
    Learned something new.
    That can happen here if you're not careful.
    Code references based on 2005 NEC
    Larry B. Fine
    Master Electrician
    Electrical Contractor
    Richmond, VA

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Williamsburg, VA
    Posts
    5,438
    Quote Originally Posted by ActionDave View Post
    You can't get 277V without three phase.
    I think you were meaning you cannot get 277/480 volts on the secondary without a 3-phase input, in which case you are correct.

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Without knowing what type of lights the original poster has, their current draw/kW rating, how many are on a circuit, etcetera, there is no way to advise whether or not he could wire them with 240 volts. The additional amperage at the lower voltage could very well exceed what the branch circuit wiring or circuit breakers can handle.

    What size transformer did you need?
    Electricians do it until it Hertz!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    26,013
    Quote Originally Posted by Npstewart View Post
    No. This is a large warehouse with a 240/1 service but due to the size of the warehouse, I want to use 277v for the high bay lighting.
    That's why I asked, since you only need to go from 240-277 and not 480 you should be able to find a suitable 1Ø transformer. If you were searching for 1Ø, 240-277/480 transformer I don't think that you will find one without going to 3Ø.
    Rob

    Moderator

    All responses based on the 2014 NEC unless otherwise noted

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •