User Tag List

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22

Thread: Grinder Pump Float Signal wire type and gauge

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Miami, Florida, USA
    Posts
    196
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Many lift stations pumps have a thermal switch embedded in the windings. They are typically wired in series with O.L. relay.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Hawthorne, New York NEC: 2014
    Posts
    4,047
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok, that makes sense.

    -Hal

  3. #13
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    27
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Grinder Control info - Meyers Simplex

    Here's the info on the controls...
    Guy before me installed one 1 1/4" conduit...I'm hoping this will suffice for housing the power to the grinder and signal wires to the panel without having to worry about "crosstalk". Distance between grinder and panel is about 80 feet. Grinder is Meyers VS 20-21 2 horse grander/pump. Figuring 14 gauge copper THHN should suffice for signal wiring.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Meyers.jpg 
Views:	35 
Size:	15.1 KB 
ID:	20740   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Meyers_2.jpg 
Views:	30 
Size:	10.1 KB 
ID:	20741  

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Bremerton, Washington
    Posts
    8,009
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Most installers in my area use Tray Cable, its direct burial rated, shielded and pairs are twisted, no issues with cross talk
    Moderator-Washington State
    Ancora Imparo

  5. #15
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    27
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Grinder Pump wiring

    Quote Originally Posted by tom baker View Post
    Most installers in my area use Tray Cable, its direct burial rated, shielded and pairs are twisted, no issues with cross talk
    Thanks Tom...here's what I have:

    First 100 feet with power wire and signal wires segregated by distance of 2" between wire sheaths. Signal wire is #14 THHN, non twisted in jacket rated for direct burial, sunlight resistant cable.

    Last 25 feet is 1 1/4" PVC conduit with both the signal and power conductors fed through conduit to the grinder.

    Is crosstalk a serious enough issue in this configuration, or should I remove the signal wires from the conduit and trench a separate feed? All conductors will terminate in the j-box rated for this purpose, inside the tank. Or if crosstalk in this application is a serious concern, then I guess I should get some tray cable and install that as you mentioned previous. In a perfect world, I would like to leave things the way they are. To be honest, I'm not too spun up on the level of crosstalk one may expect while having the power and signal wires in the same 1 1/4 conduit. there's plenty of room for 9 #14s and 4 #12s in a 1 1/4" conduit, but I do realize crosstalk is related to radiated energy and distance (we all know for a fact these signal and power conductors are co-mingling and touching each other in the 25' conduit run to the tank).
    Last edited by Jons; 07-12-18 at 10:49 AM. Reason: need to add text

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Bremerton, Washington
    Posts
    8,009
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Jons View Post
    Thanks Tom...here's what I have:
    Last 25 feet is 1 1/4" PVC conduit with both the signal and power conductors fed through conduit to the grinder.
    .
    There are restrictions on power and signal in the same raceway, depending on the type of signal circuit. If the signal circuit is Class 2 wiring, it can't be in the same raceway as separate wires, but you could use tray cable and run that inside your raceway depending on fill.
    Moderator-Washington State
    Ancora Imparo

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    6,049
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    the floats are 120 vac
    2 drive/break the mtr contactor
    1 a hi alm relay

    interference won't be an issue
    I thought cntl wire could share a conduit with mtr power if they controlled the mtr?
    Last edited by Ingenieur; 07-12-18 at 04:42 PM.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Placerville, CA, USA
    Posts
    19,855
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Ingenieur View Post
    the floats are 120 vac
    2 drive/break the mtr contactor
    1 a hi alm relay

    interference won't be an issue
    I thought cntl wire could share a conduit with mtr power if they controlled the mtr?
    Only if the control circuit is treated as Class 1 and wired usung chapter 3 methods.

    Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Hawthorne, New York NEC: 2014
    Posts
    4,047
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Can't see a damn thing from those pictures you posted, they are too small!

    -Hal

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    6,049
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    looks like it also has seal probes?
    embedded thermals?
    kind of hard to read

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •