Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 149

Thread: another AFCI nuisance trip question

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    WA
    Posts
    386

    another AFCI nuisance trip question

    usually DONT have issues anymore but this time a house is tripping about five times a day. it has a chinese light fixture with an led on it in a closet and we replaced ALL the 8 ballasts to quick starts in the garage on this ckt for led replacement lamps. BY THE WAY BOX STORE FLOURESCENT FIXTURE BALLASTS ARE ABSOLUTE JUNK, QUIT BUYING THEM! had all 8 go out in one week in this place. Have to get them at a supply house to get the commercial ballast. but i digress.

    i think these 8 flouro ballasts with the led direct replacement lamps (the kind you DONT rewire the ends to) are the cause of the nuisance tripping. or maybe the one light in the closet or for all i know, might be a staple in the wall somewhere instead. beats me just wondering if anybody has had afci issues with these direct replacement leds before. i didnt wire this place, but garage lights are on same ckt as bedroom where this afci recept is located. whole house is fed from a sub panel if that makes any diff, i dont have any issues with any of the other 4 afci leviton outlets i have used.

    i have had all these garage lights on all day last time i was there now something, i dont know cause i havent been back, is causing this bs. i'm an hours drive from this place too. customer is a lawyer, so contractor does not want any fire issues. not like it matters.

    thanks
    The End of the World as i Knew it: 2012. I'm having my Doom's Day now.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    NE (9.1 miles @5.07 Degrees from Winged Horses)
    Posts
    9,952
    FWIW, the problems we now find do not seem to be nuisance trips. PITR, Yes. Try the switches. Try thermal switch on coffee maker. Check the AFCI for trip code. Doesn't have that option? Update it. Are they QOs? Get the newest version. Old house? Brand new?

    Have the customer keep track of exactly what they are doing at time of trip, write it down and tell them to not reset the breaker. We have a 90 year old customer that narrowed it down to a certain switch. If she can take the time so can others. Is it going to cost you? Yes. Have fun.
    Tom
    TBLO

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    WA
    Posts
    386
    owners arent there right now. dont think there are any call outs on the recepts. i could be wrong but doubt it. (im not:https://www.leviton.com/sites/REST/c...R1-W&locale=en) no afci breakers. its just a bedroom and the garage but not the garage outlets, just lights. and there is a fart fan in the laundry too.

    i'll have to see if i can get contractor to try to find something that trips it. its about a 20 year old house by the ocean. its being painted so i'm not setting foot in there till the fumes disappear sometime next week. owners wanted all recepts changed. i just love these jobs.....NOT!

    oh jeez, i just read on the pdf i attached the leviton afci is made in china. job one: shotgun it outta there. LORD i HATE mixing leviton and eaton gfi's or afci's!!!!
    Last edited by bullheimer; 07-09-18 at 11:02 PM.
    The End of the World as i Knew it: 2012. I'm having my Doom's Day now.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    7,854
    Best thing you can do is stick to one AFCI, preferably panel type and go from there. New versions are far less likely to nuisance trip than old ones. In fact if these are more than an year old I would seriously think about replacing them.
    I'm in over my head...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    WA
    Posts
    386
    there are two other outlets in the bedroom before it heads back out to the garage. i 'm going to swap all of them out for afci recepts with NO feed thru on them. then the lights, fan, etc in the areas that afci is not required will not be protected. i think the garage lights or laundry is causing it so that way all the bedroom outlets are protected but none of the house wiring. kinda defeats the purpose, but i'm not going to baby sit this stinking nob job that's an hours drive north when i'm going to get burned on travel time anyway.
    The End of the World as i Knew it: 2012. I'm having my Doom's Day now.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Hawthorne, New York NEC: 2014
    Posts
    3,831
    its about a 20 year old house...
    So why the hell are you screwing with AFCIs???

    -Hal

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Placerville, CA, USA
    Posts
    19,534
    Having a 30ma (or even 6ma) GF trip does not necessarily imply that it will detect an N-G connection when no load is applied. GFCI receptacles have an additional toroid and current detector for that function.

    Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    NE Nebraska
    Posts
    37,921
    Quote Originally Posted by al hildenbrand View Post
    Here's the thing, Peter D, the instruction leaflet is the 110.3 Manufacturer's Instructions. If you were compliant, you'd know that the Manufacturer's Instructions is the only thing allowed to "compliantly" describe the features of the Eaton lines of AFCIs.

    Any "testing" done will be anecdotal, and is not recognized by 110.3.

    We've had unsubstantiated declarations at this Forum for five, or so, years that the Eaton BR line of AFCIs has no ground fault sensing component, but NOBODY, in all those years, is stepping up with ANY manufacturer's instructions, or any other 110.3 documentation, like I have.

    I've called the hand. Show your cards. I've shown you mine.
    Why would the instructions have to tell us if there is a GF component? All they really need is installation, operation and maintenance instructions. Such instructions can but don't have to include technical information on how the item works.
    I live for today, I'm just a day behind.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,891
    Quote Originally Posted by kwired View Post
    Why would the instructions have to tell us if there is a GF component? All they really need is installation, operation and maintenance instructions. Such instructions can but don't have to include technical information on how the item works.


    Seriously? Really? Please just actually READ the Eaton Instruction Leaflet Effective June 2016. It says what it says.

    As for your existential quandary of "why" there is information in 110.3 Manufacturer's Instructions. . . you are on your own.
    Another Al in Minnesota

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    NE Nebraska
    Posts
    37,921
    Quote Originally Posted by al hildenbrand View Post


    Seriously? Really? Please just actually READ the Eaton Instruction Leaflet Effective June 2016. It says what it says.

    As for your existential quandary of "why" there is information in 110.3 Manufacturer's Instructions. . . you are on your own.
    What leaflet? Have a link?

    I don't install Eaton as a general rule so not too familiar with them (especially AFCI's) in the first place.

    Many of us are satisfied with a simple field test of making an intentional ground fault and if that trips the device is a pretty good indication it must have GFP on some level. Since that isn't good enough for you maybe you are the troll here?? If you want other proof then maybe you should contact Eaton instead of members of an open forum.

    ETA: I don't want to come off as too rude, but you are asking the wrong people for as specific of an answer you seem to be looking for, if someone finds what you are looking for great, but don't put the rest of us down for not meeting your expectations.
    Last edited by kwired; 08-01-18 at 10:19 PM.
    I live for today, I'm just a day behind.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •