Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Whirlpool WET4124HW 120 volts

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Alexandria, VA
    Posts
    420

    Whirlpool WET4124HW 120 volts

    I had a job today installing a new 120 volt circuit for a 24" stacked washer/dryer. The owner swapped out their old machine (240 volt) for a new machine. The new machine looks identical but is designed to run on 120 volts.
    I have been involved with lots of washer/dryer installs and have never seen an appliance like this that both the washer and dryer were powered by a single 120 volts circuit.

    Any insights in how a typical 240 volt stacked washer/dryer has been redone to run on only 20 amps 120 volt?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    26,018
    I would guess that it probably drys very slowly. Maybe you can only run one at a time?
    Rob

    Moderator

    All responses based on the 2014 NEC unless otherwise noted

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tennessee NEC:2008
    Posts
    4,836
    I wired for one a while back and it required a 30A circuit and 30A receptacle. The 120V for the washer was self fed from the circuitry inside.
    Seems to me it would be easier to just put a 240V motor on the washer when manufactured.
    If you aim at nothing, you will hit it every time!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tennessee NEC:2008
    Posts
    4,836
    I looked up the model and it is indeed a 120V unit.

    I found some of the questions funny and the answer even funnier and the answer was from the Mfg!

    Will the 120V work on the 110 outlet?

    Asked by
    stacker

    March 1, 2018

    Answers

    Hi Stacker, we would not recommend using 120V on 110 outlet. Thank you for your inquiry regarding our Whirlpool appliances!

    Hello stacker! Unfortunately, we would have to recommend getting a 120V outlet for the unit to work properly. Thank you for your inquiry on our Whirlpool appliances.
    If you aim at nothing, you will hit it every time!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    7,931
    Gas unit?
    I'm in over my head...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Iowegia
    Posts
    18,110
    Only one half of the stacked unit will run at one time.

    You can't run the washer and the dryer concurrently.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Jamaica and london
    Posts
    735
    Actually, if it runs a condenser unit it is possible to run on 120, and on a 20 amp circuit...
    thus it should be same without the condenser as they actually run a few amps less power at 240.
    Standard 240 volt dryers here in UK are now running at around ten amps... drying time is longer than USA time... more cycling on and off... but... still not maxing out the thirteen amp plugs here.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Boyertown, PA, USA
    Posts
    489
    Quote Originally Posted by Little Bill View Post
    I looked up the model and it is indeed a 120V unit.

    I found some of the questions funny and the answer even funnier and the answer was from the Mfg!

    Will the 120V work on the 110 outlet?

    Asked by
    stacker

    March 1, 2018

    Answers

    Hi Stacker, we would not recommend using 120V on 110 outlet. Thank you for your inquiry regarding our Whirlpool appliances!

    Hello stacker! Unfortunately, we would have to recommend getting a 120V outlet for the unit to work properly. Thank you for your inquiry on our Whirlpool appliances.
    I wouldn't turn down that job. It'd prolly be easy to up-sell a complete circuit breaker cycling...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •