Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
Results 31 to 38 of 38

Thread: Are you ready for POE lighting?

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    3 Hr 2 Min from Winged Horses
    Posts
    14,978
    Quote Originally Posted by Fulthrotl View Post
    i'd talk to programmers instead. but, do whatever works for you.

    i know an independent programmer who is $1k a day, plus expenses.
    he is booked weeks ahead. nets about $220k a year. flies all over the
    country doing this stuff. laptop and a airline carry on bag.
    Shoot, I am limited to Lutron stuff and can still pick up small contracts and make an easy buck.
    "Electricity is really just organized lightning." George Carlin


    Derek

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Roughly 5346 miles from Earls Court
    Posts
    2,623
    Quote Originally Posted by Fulthrotl View Post
    i know an independent programmer who is $1k a day, plus expenses.
    Where do I sign up?

    (seriously, it's a line of work I'm willing to try and wrangling bad user interfaces is all in a day's work)

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    NE Nebraska
    Posts
    37,529
    Quote Originally Posted by ActionDave View Post
    So what. The point is you can do it.
    NEC has a section on low voltage lighting.

    Is there a reason these need CAT 5/6 instead of simple two wire supply?

    Sparky's not knowing how to program a lighting control? I don't expect to get into very much if any of that before I retire. Of course I don't plan to move to CA either.

    Put occupancy sensors in restrooms in a small town church, happened to be church I attend. I tried to talk them out of them, some were concerned about lights getting left on occasionally and the wasted energy/money. I told them there isn't that much for lights, and that if they only get left on occasionally the sensors will cost more then they will ever save. They still have times when the sensors won't turn the lights off and have spent more on service calls then they ever saved
    I live for today, I'm just a day behind.

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Cherry Valley NY, Seattle, WA
    Posts
    4,523
    Quote Originally Posted by kwired View Post
    NEC has a section on low voltage lighting.

    Is there a reason these need CAT 5/6 instead of simple two wire supply?

    Sparky's not knowing how to program a lighting control? I don't expect to get into very much if any of that before I retire. Of course I don't plan to move to CA either.

    Put occupancy sensors in restrooms in a small town church, happened to be church I attend. I tried to talk them out of them, some were concerned about lights getting left on occasionally and the wasted energy/money. I told them there isn't that much for lights, and that if they only get left on occasionally the sensors will cost more then they will ever save. They still have times when the sensors won't turn the lights off and have spent more on service calls then they ever saved
    Yeah I get that frequently, "we want to save money." After a bunch of timers/phtotcells/occupancy sensors and labor.......
    Ethan Brush - East West Electric. NY, WA. MA

    "You can't generalize"

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    1,509
    Quote Originally Posted by kwired View Post
    NEC has a section on low voltage lighting.

    Is there a reason these need CAT 5/6 instead of simple two wire supply?
    PoE is not just running 12V over a pair of wires. Depending on the standard it uses 2 or 4 pairs. It uses a much higher voltage and both ends of the circuit work together to regulate voltage and current. The newer PoE standards allow for 70+ watts per port at 100 meters (328'). Using standard 2-wire cable to run 12v from a remote driver to remote LED lighting will require some very large cable over that kind of distance.
    Curt Swartz
    Electrical Contractor

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Hawthorne, New York NEC: 2014
    Posts
    3,749
    With PoE you still have the usual ethernet data on the cable also.

    Aren't the conductors actually a smaller gauge with CAT 7?

    -Hal

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    NE Nebraska
    Posts
    37,529
    Quote Originally Posted by curt swartz View Post
    PoE is not just running 12V over a pair of wires. Depending on the standard it uses 2 or 4 pairs. It uses a much higher voltage and both ends of the circuit work together to regulate voltage and current. The newer PoE standards allow for 70+ watts per port at 100 meters (328'). Using standard 2-wire cable to run 12v from a remote driver to remote LED lighting will require some very large cable over that kind of distance.
    I'll admit to not knowing a lot about PoE, but figured power was likely on just one pair.

    I don't see how you could get 70 watts over 100 meters on such small conductors without getting into "power circuit" ratings rather than class 2/3/ communications circuit ratings, unless maybe you did utilize all four pairs for power.
    I live for today, I'm just a day behind.

  8. #38
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Jamaica and london
    Posts
    341
    Quote Originally Posted by kwired View Post
    I'll admit to not knowing a lot about PoE, but figured power was likely on just one pair.

    I don't see how you could get 70 watts over 100 meters on such small conductors without getting into "power circuit" ratings rather than class 2/3/ communications circuit ratings, unless maybe you did utilize all four pairs for power.
    They use two pair for data and the usually spare two pair for the power, usually. Putting power on the data pairs can cause too many problems with errors in data.

    Of course, many of my old installations could not use this technique as we used the extra two pairs for telephones and intercoms..lol...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •