User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: 440V system voltage

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    16
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    440V system voltage

    Hello All, Just would like to get your opinion on this, the system voltage of the premises is 440V, the available inverters that we can source out only has 400V and 480V output, if ever I use a 400V inverter and connecting it to 440V system, do I need to use a transformer? How about using 480V? Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    730
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Inverter Range

    Check the dynamic range for the inverter, 440 is 10% below 480. If the inverter is rated for use at 480V +/-10%, then it should operate successfully at 440V. Check the manufacturer literature.

    Inverters are current limited so a 480V inverter operated at 440V will have a 10% lower kW rating.

    The other option is a boost transformer to change 440V to 480V. The are small for what they do.
    e^(i pi) = -1

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    16
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by beanland View Post
    Check the dynamic range for the inverter, 440 is 10% below 480. If the inverter is rated for use at 480V +/-10%
    Name:  Huawei.jpg
Views: 130
Size:  25.2 KB


    Here's the inverter we're planning to use. Thanks for the answer. I guess the best way is to ask the manufacturer.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    730
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Missing

    I see. Those technical specs are lacking. Good Luck. A boost transformer may be the solution.
    e^(i pi) = -1

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    The Motor City, Michigan USA
    Posts
    906
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Did you actually measure 440 volts, or is that just how the equipment's labeled?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    16
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by drcampbell View Post
    Did you actually measure 440 volts, or is that just how the equipment's labeled?
    440V is shown in the Single Line Diagram for the building

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Roughly 5346 miles from Earls Court
    Posts
    2,692
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by HecThor View Post
    440V is shown in the Single Line Diagram for the building
    Since AFAICT the Philippines is a nominal 220 volt system, 440 doesn't seem that surprising.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Jamaica and london
    Posts
    1,110
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It will do the 480 or 440.... but designed for the split 480/240 setups... 440/220... but Acme probably has a transformer regulated for it...
    Student of electrical codes. Please Take others advice first.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    8,253
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by HecThor View Post
    440V is shown in the Single Line Diagram for the building
    Are you sure its not 415 volts? Power in the Phillipnes is often 240/415Y in new installations. I'd break out a volt meter and measure.
    I'm in over my head...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    16
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by mbrooke View Post
    Are you sure its not 415 volts? Power in the Phillipnes is often 240/415Y in new installations. I'd break out a volt meter and measure.
    Yes I'm sure its a radio station by the way

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •