User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: PULLING WIRE

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    2,288
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    PULLING WIRE

    I know dumb question. Existing underground conduits already installed underground. 2 new building being built with bottom feed switchgear going in slab on grade. You obviously can't pull the wire after they pour the slab but before the gear is set, correct? THinking you may be able leave enough slack and have the gear set over it and then pull it in/up.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Vermont
    Posts
    1,888
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    depends on the sheeve setup, some go right into sw gear


    ~RJ~

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    869
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    How are new buildings going to use existing conduits?

    Are the conduits turned up in PVC and they will pour around them?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    26,360
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    A long as your layout is correct and the conduits are clear to get in the pulling machine or sheaves you would set the gear then pull the conductors.
    Rob

    Moderator

    All responses based on the 2014 NEC unless otherwise noted

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,466
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Gear is 90" tall how high is the ceiling, sitting on a pad?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    2,288
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by cdslotz View Post
    How are new buildings going to use existing conduits?

    Are the conduits turned up in PVC and they will pour around them?
    Turned up in rgs. Stubbed up past grade and where slab will be poured.

    Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    2,288
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by sameguy View Post
    Gear is 90" tall how high is the ceiling, sitting on a pad?
    Open ceiling. It's a substation house with slab and walls no Ceilings

    Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    2,288
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by infinity View Post
    A long as your layout is correct and the conduits are clear to get in the pulling machine or sheaves you would set the gear then pull the conductors.
    Don't fully understand. So your saying you can pull in the wire prior to setting gear and then pull in the remainder of the way when gear is set?

    Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    phoenix az
    Posts
    194
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by mstrlucky74 View Post
    Don't fully understand. So your saying you can pull in the wire prior to setting gear and then pull in the remainder of the way when gear is set?

    Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
    of course you can.. the question is what are you using to pull it? and what size/ type cable? you can really do it either way, but sometimes the gear and/or cables can be damaged pulling into gear... of course its a bad idea to pull before hole is patched..
    edit wait! pull the full length needed to terminate then have a man protect it while gear is dropped! doing the pull half way is a bad idea..

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    26,360
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by mstrlucky74 View Post
    Don't fully understand. So your saying you can pull in the wire prior to setting gear and then pull in the remainder of the way when gear is set?
    No, set the gear then pull in the conductors.
    Rob

    Moderator

    All responses based on the 2014 NEC unless otherwise noted

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •