User Tag List

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: Service change question

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    RI
    Posts
    83
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Service change question

    When changing a 100 amp to a 200 amp service does the utilities upgrade/ increase size of thier service drop conductors?

    I have often seem contractors just tie the new 200 amp conductors to the existing wires
    .....Still just happy to be here.....

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    3 Hr 2 Min from Winged Horses
    Posts
    15,950
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by shputnik View Post
    When changing a 100 amp to a 200 amp service does the utilities upgrade/ increase size of thier service drop conductors?

    I have often seem contractors just tie the new 200 amp conductors to the existing wires
    Many times the POCO reuses the existing drop.
    "Electricity is really just organized lightning." George Carlin


    Derek

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Posts
    34,004
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    We temp it back and if the power company decides they need new wires then that is their job. They have different guidelines then we do as they do not use the NEC.
    They say I shot a man named Gray and took his wife to Italy
    She inherited a million bucks and when she died it came to me
    I can't help it if I'm lucky



  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    RI
    Posts
    83
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Dennis Alwon View Post
    We temp it back and if the power company decides they need new wires then that is their job. They have different guidelines then we do as they do not use the NEC.
    I understand they don't follow the NEC but
    Do you know what size wire, free air can be used for a 200 amp service? Curious why they wouldn't change it out?
    .....Still just happy to be here.....

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    3 Hr 2 Min from Winged Horses
    Posts
    15,950
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by shputnik View Post
    I understand they don't follow the NEC but
    Do you know what size wire, free air can be used for a 200 amp service? Curious why they wouldn't change it out?
    They gamble that it will work using their historical data.

    Since, they are usually right, it costs them less to risk the wires burning up than it would cost to always up grade.

    They run their wires and transformers to the max.
    "Electricity is really just organized lightning." George Carlin


    Derek

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Arcata, CA
    Posts
    428
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by shputnik View Post
    Curious why they wouldn't change it out?
    Because it costs money.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    NE Nebraska
    Posts
    38,818
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Unless you tell them you are adding significant load, like instantaneous electric water heating or electric heat they assume it will have about the same demand it had before.
    I live for today, I'm just a day behind.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    3 Hr 2 Min from Winged Horses
    Posts
    15,950
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Barbqranch View Post
    Because it costs money.
    Correct. The POCOs know that for the few times they are wrong, it is more cost effective for them doing it their way.
    "Electricity is really just organized lightning." George Carlin


    Derek

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Clark County, NV
    Posts
    1,581
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've never once seen Nevada Energy in Las Vegas area change the overhead wires when I did a 100A to 200A service panel upgrade. I've also never had my customer call back about any issues.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    NE Nebraska
    Posts
    38,818
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by MAC702 View Post
    I've never once seen Nevada Energy in Las Vegas area change the overhead wires when I did a 100A to 200A service panel upgrade. I've also never had my customer call back about any issues.
    How about when you went from 100 amp single phase to 200 amp three phase
    I live for today, I'm just a day behind.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •