Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: MV Cable Pull

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Valdosta, GA
    Posts
    4,197
    Quote Originally Posted by mstrlucky74 View Post
    If you have a 400' run of existing conduit with a manhole in the middle of the run would I assume you would pull all the way through....[/url]
    I’d pull from the manhole to each end and set terminal blocks on the wall.



    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    Brought to you by Carl's Jr.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    2,225
    Quote Originally Posted by brantmacga View Post
    I’d pull from the manhole to each end and set terminal blocks on the wall.



    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    Wow, really? So you have to do all those terminations on the manhole? Why not just pull end to end? Thanks.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Valdosta, GA
    Posts
    4,197
    Quote Originally Posted by mstrlucky74 View Post
    Wow, really? So you have to do all those terminations on the manhole? Why not just pull end to end? Thanks.
    Because pulling through a manhole is a major PITA.



    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    Brought to you by Carl's Jr.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    2,225
    Quote Originally Posted by brantmacga View Post
    Because pulling through a manhole is a major PITA.



    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

    Makes sense. So theres no way to have the manhole be a pull point and continue the pull past there so you don't have to splice or term in the manhole?

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Valdosta, GA
    Posts
    4,197
    Quote Originally Posted by mstrlucky74 View Post
    Makes sense. So theres no way to have the manhole be a pull point and continue the pull past there so you don't have to splice or term in the manhole?
    It’s going to be hard to setup a pulley or sheave in there.... you’d have to fabricate something to mount it on horizontally. And idk if you already have any radiuses on each side of the manhole.

    Or just pull it all the way through, leave 200’ on the ground, reset the tugger at the other end and start over.

    I’d ask whoever is in charge of the pull what they think.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    Brought to you by Carl's Jr.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    2,225
    Quote Originally Posted by brantmacga View Post
    It’s going to be hard to setup a pulley or sheave in there.... you’d have to fabricate something to mount it on horizontally. And idk if you already have any radiuses on each side of the manhole.

    Or just pull it all the way through, leave 200’ on the ground, reset the tugger at the other end and start over.

    I’d ask whoever is in charge of the pull what they think.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    Thank you!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •