Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Downsizing wire

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    88

    Downsizing wire

    Trying to wire up a UPS, the feeder wires are #2 on a 60amp breaker, the UPS has an internal breaker rated for 60amps, the problem is the terminals are slanted towards the connection plate and probably only rated for #6 or #8, except I doubt I'll be able to get even a #8 in there and still close the cover, is it allowed to use a smaller vague wire like #10 or #12 for very short distances at 60amps?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Bremerton, Washington
    Posts
    7,961
    See 240.4
    Moderator-Washington State
    Ancora Imparo

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    88
    Possibly I'm overlooking or not comprehending but I'm not really finding what I'm looking for

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    26,025
    240.4 will tell you that you need a conductor with a minimum size of 60 amps if this equipment is feed from a 60 amp OCPD. Looks like you'll need a minimum of #6 AWG.
    Rob

    Moderator

    All responses based on the 2014 NEC unless otherwise noted

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    88
    I found the nameplate, apparently it only draws 44 apms, I may be able to use a number 8 now even if it is on a 60amp breaker?

    I mean it is literally impossible to spread 4 #6 out of a 3/4 inch connector the required distance to connect to the terminals that are about a half inch from the connector, very poor design,

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    26,025
    Quote Originally Posted by karn View Post
    I found the nameplate, apparently it only draws 44 amps, I may be able to use a number 8 now even if it is on a 60amp breaker?
    The answer is no if you want it to be code complaint.
    Rob

    Moderator

    All responses based on the 2014 NEC unless otherwise noted

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    newburgh,ny
    Posts
    465

    Lots of luck closing that cover

    If it was me I would mount a box under what you have and come in with a High flex wire spliced into the box under it. You may find a high temp high flex wire that is rated for the current you need similar to motor lead wire.
    A cowboy may get thrown , but they always get up and walk forward.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia
    Posts
    23,513
    Conductor ampacity is based on cross-section area, not length.
    Code references based on 2005 NEC
    Larry B. Fine
    Master Electrician
    Electrical Contractor
    Richmond, VA

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    NE Nebraska
    Posts
    38,252
    Don't you also love how they also put the KO's for the in/out leads in the "access door"?

    If you don't use fine stranded conductors you probably have a hard time just closing the door.

    They likely intended this to have flexible cord connected to it - whether that complies with codes or not.
    I live for today, I'm just a day behind.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    3,773
    Send us a picture of what your looking at.

    JAP>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •