User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ambient Temperature Correction Factor

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Ambient Temperature Correction Factor

I am new to the forum and I'm studying for the California electrical exam. I was wondering if any could explain when to divide and when to multiple the correction factor by the amperage? I have been doing either or witch ever gives me the correct answer but in the real world I won't have possible answers in front of me.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by James14 View Post
    I am new to the forum and I'm studying for the California electrical exam. I was wondering if any could explain when to divide and when to multiple the correction factor by the amperage? I have been doing either or witch ever gives me the correct answer but in the real world I won't have possible answers in front of me.

You always multiply by the value given in table 310.15(B)(2)(b) for ambient temperature correction. For example: 2 AWG copper XHHW has an ampacity of 115. You are going to use it in an ambient temperature of 115 degrees F. 115 X .85 (the value in the table) = 97.75 amperes. The ampacity of 2 AWG XHHW copper used when the ambient temp is 115 degrees is 97.75 amps.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Correction Factor for 36° C =.88 in the 75° column of table 310.15(b)(2)(a). 45 amps ÷ .88 =51 witch require a #6 conductor but if multiple it you get 39.6 or 40 witch is wrong am I not correct?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The question reads what size conductor, Type THW cu.,can supply a 45 amp load when the ambient temperature is 36°c? Terminals are rated for 75°c. The answer #6 AWG

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Does anyone know when to multiple and when to divide?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)