Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: FPE load centers

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    boston, ma
    Posts
    3

    FPE load centers

    Does an existing FPE panel or sub panel need to be replaced if it has no issues?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Posts
    33,749
    No, it does not need to be replaced
    They say I shot a man named Gray and took his wife to Italy
    She inherited a million bucks and when she died it came to me
    I can't help it if I'm lucky



  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Livonia, Michigan
    Posts
    310
    Quote Originally Posted by Liyus View Post
    Does an existing FPE panel or sub panel need to be replaced if it has no issues?
    Yes, it does. How could you possibly know it has no issues if the breakers don't trip? That's the whole deal with the FPE panels and breakers -- they DON'T trip when they're supposed to, so the homeowner could easily be running more power on circuits than they're rated for, without knowing it.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Clark County, NV
    Posts
    1,222
    Quote Originally Posted by Liyus View Post
    Does an existing FPE panel or sub panel need to be replaced if it has no issues?
    Who is saying it has "no issues?"

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Livonia, Michigan
    Posts
    310
    Quote Originally Posted by MAC702 View Post
    Who is saying it has "no issues?"
    Exactly, just as I was saying. In fact, I would NOT do any electrical work at such a customer's house without replacing the panel. If they didn't want to spend the money to have a service upgrade, then I would ask them to call one of my competitors to do what they're asking me to do.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    6,794
    Quote Originally Posted by jeff48356 View Post
    Yes, it does. How could you possibly know it has no issues if the breakers don't trip? That's the whole deal with the FPE panels and breakers -- they DON'T trip when they're supposed to, so the homeowner could easily be running more power on circuits than they're rated for, without knowing it.
    So you test every breaker you ever come across?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •