Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Solar edge string fuses

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Glen bunie, md, us
    Posts
    105

    Solar edge string fuses

    Solaredge is so confusing. I have solaredge inverter SE9K-US, 3 strings, each string 13 modules, each module model TSM 300DD has optimizer model P320. The circuits from each string go straight to inverter their is no combiner. Are string fuses required?
    Last edited by hhsting; 10-24-18 at 09:35 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4,701
    SolarEdge says they are no, but this may be somewhat contradicted by NEC requirements. I believe SolarEdge can provide a fuse kit if your AHJ requires it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Clinton, WA
    Posts
    90
    Have you considered wiring the array with just two strings? Which optimizer are you using? Have you used the SolarEdge online Designer tool? I designed a very similar system earlier this year using a couple of the 9 kW 3ph inverters, and I was not able to make the stringing work with the dual optimizers. Tech support gave me some tips that weren't in the manual on combining different optimizers on the same string. If you can make two strings fly, it will make the project cheaper and easier to do, and it will solve your fusing problem.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Austin, TX, USA
    Posts
    10,191
    Quote Originally Posted by hhsting View Post
    Solaredge is so confusing. I have solaredge inverter SE9K-US, 3 strings, each string 13 modules, each module model TSM 300DD has optimizer model P320. The circuits from each string go straight to inverter their is no combiner. Are string fuses required?
    Some AHJ's will take SE's word for it and some will not. You can put 5250WDC (5700WDC if you are using a SE HD inverter) on a string; do you really need 3 strings?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    2,421
    Quote Originally Posted by ggunn View Post
    Some AHJ's will take SE's word for it and some will not. You can put 5250WDC (5700WDC if you are using a SE HD inverter) on a string; do you really need 3 strings?
    It's very frustrating, because at one point, SE had string fusing come standard on all the inverters that anticipate 3 strings. Then they reverted to no fusing and bare terminal block connections. How is an installer supposed to anticipate whether an AHJ will accept a white paper from SE on this issue?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Austin, TX, USA
    Posts
    10,191
    Quote Originally Posted by Carultch View Post
    It's very frustrating, because at one point, SE had string fusing come standard on all the inverters that anticipate 3 strings. Then they reverted to no fusing and bare terminal block connections. How is an installer supposed to anticipate whether an AHJ will accept a white paper from SE on this issue?
    Ask the AHJ before you build a system.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    CA, USA
    Posts
    683
    As the technology gets more complex it gets harder to apply the simple NEC rules of thumb to PV systems. There are really only two issues with the lack of OCPD in the SE inverter.

    1) Will the module series current rating be exceeded if there is an internal fault in the module?
    Modules have a maximum series fuse rating to limit fault current going back into the module if there is an internal fault. If there is a DC optimizer on the module and it does not allow reverse current flow into a module fault then it does not matter how many strings are in parallel, the module will never see a fault current greater than the series rating. SE though has never definitively stated that the DC optimizer will not allow reverse current flow, at least not anywhere I have seen. If the DC optimizer allows reverse current flow then the strings have the same OCPD requirements as a string with no DC optimizer. SE implies that reverse current flow can't happen but if anyone has read anything from them that specifically says it won't please post a link.

    2) Are the string conductors rated for the maximum fault current?
    This is pretty basic, assuming a fault on a string conductor between the last DC optimizer and the inverter, is the conductor rated to carry the maximum current from N-1 strings into the fault. Most of the time with a #10 conductor you can have quite a few strings in parallel before you hit the rating.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    ID
    Posts
    49
    Ugh...SolarEdge has frustrated me with this as well. I wish they would just bring back the fused inputs with their three phase inverters. But, you can in fact combine three strings together with solaredge without fusing but it requires some additional work.

    Here is a link to a white paper from solaredge on the subject of combining three strings: https://www.solaredge.com/sites/defa...quirements.pdf

    Unfortunately, in my opinion, what it comes down to is if you want to combine three strings together at the inverter you probably need to run number 8 from the wire transition box to the inverter. The optimizers won't pass through fault current from the other two strings so #10 wire is ok on the PV module side of the circuit. And #10 homeruns from the wire transition box to the DC optimizers is in free air so it's rated 55 A. But if you have a fault on the output side of the optimizers I dont think #10 is adequate from the wire transition box to the inverter because you would have 6 current carrying conductors in a raceway, which is a 0.8 derate and you will probably also be applying an ambient temperature derate which would push the current rating of a #10 THWN-2 conductor down below 30 A which is the continuous output current of two strings of solaredge.

    So just to be safe when I'm doing three strings without fuses I'm doing #8 AWG from the wire transition box to the inverter. I wish solaredge would just bring back the fused inputs. They claim this is saving us $ but in reality the cost of upsizing to #8 wire probably ends up costing more than the fuses and fuseholder inputs. They also claim you can order fused inputs aftermarket and install them yourself but I've tried and nobody is even supplying these.

    SolarEdge also has a letter from Bill Brooks on this subject floating out there somewhere. If you contact their tech support they should be able to send you a copy.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4,701
    Quote Originally Posted by SunFish View Post
    ... They claim this is saving us $ but in reality the cost of upsizing to #8 wire probably ends up costing more than the fuses and fuseholder inputs...
    The derating issue applies whether there are fuses or not though. Where it really costs money is in the delays and failed inspections if an AHJ doesn't just let unfused strings sail through.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Austin, TX, USA
    Posts
    10,191
    Quote Originally Posted by SunFish View Post
    Ugh...SolarEdge has frustrated me with this as well. I wish they would just bring back the fused inputs with their three phase inverters. But, you can in fact combine three strings together with solaredge without fusing but it requires some additional work.

    Here is a link to a white paper from solaredge on the subject of combining three strings: https://www.solaredge.com/sites/defa...quirements.pdf
    I sent that document to our local AHJ and his response was that he is not going to take SolarEdge's word for it. He wants to see something from an independent testing lab.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •