Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: 725.2, 725.41, 725.136 and 727

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    Baton Rouge
    Posts
    64

    725.2, 725.41, 725.136 and 727

    If cable is rated PLTC/ITC, can it be used as a Class 1, Power Limited circuit even though it only has 300V insulation? For example, if I have a 24VDC output signal from a DCS with a Class 1 power supply that meets 725.41(2), can this circuit be routed into a 480V MCC motor starter bucket with its functionally associated power circuit that has 600V insulation?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    23,816
    Can you install it an a manner that would comply with 725.136(D)(1)?
    Don, Illinois
    (All code citations are 2017 unless otherwise noted)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    Baton Rouge
    Posts
    64

    725.2, 725.41, 725.136 and 727

    Quote Originally Posted by don_resqcapt19 View Post
    Can you install it an a manner that would comply with 725.136(D)(1)?
    Realistically? probably not; without wrapping the 300V PLTC/ITC with 600V rated cold/heat shrink sleeves. I was hoping to avoid all that labor.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    23,816
    Quote Originally Posted by Isaiah View Post
    Realistically? probably not; without wrapping the 300V PLTC/ITC with 600V rated cold/heat shrink sleeves. I was hoping to avoid all that labor.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    You can't get a 1/4" separation?
    Don, Illinois
    (All code citations are 2017 unless otherwise noted)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    Baton Rouge
    Posts
    64
    Quote Originally Posted by don_resqcapt19 View Post
    You can't get a 1/4" separation?
    Perhaps. Does the 0.25” apply only at the terminations or the entire length of the wire way?
    Thanks


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Aspen, Colo
    Posts
    2,012
    Cannot get 1/4" separation 725.136(C) ENT?
    CircuitRyder --- Unfortunately not all good ideas are code enforceable.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    Baton Rouge
    Posts
    64
    Quote Originally Posted by mwm1752 View Post
    Cannot get 1/4" separation 725.136(C) ENT?
    Possibly - using ty-wraps in the wireway. I'm going to say 'yes'

    thanks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •