User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: When an "eRoom" is required

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Portland, Oregon
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    When an "eRoom" is required

    I'm trying to determine what our options are for adding additional power capacity to our business property. We had an electrician out about two years ago, and he mentioned that any panel or individual service "over ___hundred amps requires an eRoom". He described this as a room which houses additional electrical equipment required for larger amperage services; and he explained that the cost goes up dramatically once you pass that threshold of service. However, I can't remember what the number was, though I think it was 600 Amps...??

    Does any of this sound familiar? Also, could anyone venture a guess at what that number might be? Lastly, could you give me further details on what an eRoom contains as well as possible rough cost of building one?

    Additional Information: We currently have a Single-Phase 600 amp main panel, with 3x 200 amps sub-panels. We're hoping to replace/upgrade the panel to as high as we can go (possibly as high as 800 or 1000 amps) without having to build said "eRoom". Three-phase isn't an option in our area without upwards of a $100K investment. If we can't upgrade the existing service any further, we'll consider pulling a second service to the property to avoid the eRoom investment; just trying to weigh all of our options before we call in the professionals.

    Thanks everyone!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Williamsburg, VA
    Posts
    6,042
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    As far as I know, you cannot have two services of the same voltage to one building. What is your calculated or actual load now? Just because you have three two hundred amp sub-panels doesn't necessarily mean you couldn't add another one or two or even 6 more.

    The requirements for an electrical room may vary dramatically depending on structure and building codes at your location. No way to give a price based on what you have provided. And no way to know if the service needs upgrading without a load calculation.
    Electricians do it until it Hertz!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Northern illinois
    Posts
    16,998
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by JFletcher View Post
    As far as I know, you cannot have two services of the same voltage to one building. What is your calculated or actual load now? Just because you have three two hundred amp sub-panels doesn't necessarily mean you couldn't add another one or two or even 6 more.

    The requirements for an electrical room may vary dramatically depending on structure and building codes at your location. No way to give a price based on what you have provided. And no way to know if the service needs upgrading without a load calculation.
    You can have multiple services of the same voltage if the utility can only supply a certain sized service at the voltage you want and you need more.

    230.2 Number of Services. A building or other structure
    served shall be supplied by only one service unless permitted in
    230.2(A) through (D).
    ...
    (C) Capacity Requirements. Additional services shall be
    permitted under any of the following:
    ...
    (2) Where the load requirements of a single-phase installation
    are greater than the serving agency normally
    supplies through one service
    I agree with your suggestion that they do a load calculation first though.

    I don't recall a rule in the code that requires an electrical room for a certain size service EXCEPT that there are some requirements for larger services that might make a electrical room appropriate.
    Bob

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Williamsburg, VA
    Posts
    6,042
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thank you for the correction and code citation.

    Into the original poster, Welcome to The Forum.
    Electricians do it until it Hertz!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Valdosta, GA
    Posts
    4,277
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    I have a cabinet shop as a service customer, and they were somehow able to get the utility to provide two services; a 208Y/120 and a 480Y/277.

    I think most likely they moved into an existing building with the 208Y service and added the 480Y service afterwards.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Brought to you by Carl's Jr.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    19,218
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by brantmacga View Post
    I have a cabinet shop as a service customer, and they were somehow able to get the utility to provide two services; a 208Y/120 and a 480Y/277.
    That is not a problem at all. The two voltage systems are different, so separate services are allowed.

    Charles E. Beck, P.E., Seattle
    Comments based on 2017 NEC unless otherwise noted.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Valdosta, GA
    Posts
    4,277
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by charlie b View Post
    That is not a problem at all. The two voltage systems are different, so separate services are allowed.

    Oh ok.... so that rule applies only if the same voltage unless the exception for capacity is met ?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Brought to you by Carl's Jr.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •