Thread: 320 Amp Service, Tow 200A Panels?

320 Amp Service, Tow 200A Panels?

Hi all. This is my first posting and any help will be immensely appreciated.

The utility company will be installing a 320A rated meter on a new building for service. From the meter, can I install two adjacent 200A panels inside the building for the service? Are they fed separately from the meter? Is one panel my only option? What are my options? The building is a residential two story (up 1,100 sf apartment/down a 2,000 sf shop (the shop belongs to the property owner will lease the apartment to a future tenant.) Also, do I need disconnects for the panel and or panels? The service will be 120/240 single phase. I've been an electrician since 1988 and this year I became a contractor. As far as the setup and configuration goes, this one has me stuck. Thanks

Re: 320 Amp Service, Tow 200A Panels?

Most 320A meter bases have lugs that are listed to accept multiple wires in the same hole (one of the few lugs that are). My meter base (Milbank) required that each wire be the same size and there is a narrow range of wire sizes you are allowed to use when double lugging. So what you'd generally do is run two sets of 3/0 copper from each lug running one wire from each lug to a 200A panel. Same with the neutral, but you could drop back a size or two (but don't go under 1/0, or whatever size is required by 250.66, so you have more options as to where to connect the ground electrode conductor).