Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: SEWAGE PUMP

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    28

    SEWAGE PUMP

    I'm installing a 120 volt, 20 amp circuit with a 20 amp receptacle for a sewage pump for a septic tank outdoors.I have a 4x4 post where I mounted a weather tight box with a single receptacle with an in-use weather tight cover.The pump plugs into the receptacle and has a piggy back plug which is a float switch.Does this circuit have to be GFCI protected? I need to know the code article.Thanks

  2. #2

    Re: SEWAGE PUMP

    210-8. I don't beleive this installation would fall under any of the exceptions so does need GFI protection. I have run this race before with a sump pump circuit. Manufacturer of pump says absolutely no GFI protection allowed, NEC says I must provide it. Got me coming and going. Solved it by removing the receptacle and hard-wiring the pump motor via a single-pole switch. The motor was fractional HP and thermally protected.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Westchester County, New York
    Posts
    3,552

    Re: SEWAGE PUMP

    If this is in a location 'other than dwelling', than GFCI is not required.

    Pierre

  4. #4
    Guest

    Re: SEWAGE PUMP

    My posting style is to ask more questions if I don't fully understand the question or the scope of the work. Here we go:

    Is this job commercial, industrial, or residential?

    Is it a private or public job?

    What is the horsepower rating of the pump?

    Does it have a 15-amp or 20-amp factory plug end?

    What else can you tell us about the site?

    We can give a safer answer once we fully understand the question and the setting. Not all answers may be required, but the more data, the better the quality of the answers.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    28

    Re: SEWAGE PUMP

    Thanks for the replys.The pump motor is 1/4 hp 15 amp plug on cord.The job is a residental home the pump lifts the water from one septic tank to another tank.I could hard wire it but then I would have to cut the plug off the cord and the plug off the float switch. guess I'll install a GFCI.It has a high water alarm so if the GFCI trips we'll hear the alarm.The way I read 210.8 exceptions is I do or I don't need a GFCI receptacle I can't tell.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Westchester County, New York
    Posts
    3,552

    Re: SEWAGE PUMP

    Z-men

    Because this is a dwelling, you are required to GFCI. Don't forget the 'inuse' cover.
    You mentioned a high water alarm, will that work if the GFCI is tripped?
    400.10(A)(3) and 400.3(B) require that the sump pump be connected with an 'Attachment plug'.

    Pierre

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    28

    Re: SEWAGE PUMP

    If I install a single receptacle show me the article that says I need GFCI Do I or Don't I??????????

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Salt Lake City, Utah
    Posts
    5,319

    Re: SEWAGE PUMP

    210.8. See also 406.8 You need it.

    [ September 26, 2003, 10:01 PM: Message edited by: ryan_618 ]
    Ryan Jackson, Salt Lake City
    Inspector, Instructor

  9. #9
    Guest

    Re: SEWAGE PUMP

    Sump pump cords get difficult to re-wire or extend as some of them contain a little air tube. I don't remember the details, but it's not always easy to hardwire, rewire, or extend a sump pump cord. There are waterproofing issues at the pump end too. The factory cord is the best thing to preserve if possible. Been there, done that.

    ../Wayne C.

    [ September 26, 2003, 10:04 PM: Message edited by: awwt ]

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    175

    Re: SEWAGE PUMP

    I use Gregoryelectric's method,the hardwiring of both the lift pump motor and the alarm float switch seems to offer a practical solution.

    I arrived at this method after an installation in a lightning prone area constantly required me to go reset the gfci recep amid the homeowner's cursing of the Nec and electricians in general.

    Cutting the plug off the cords probably violates the "listing" but from a practical standpoint,the hardwiring method eliminates a lot of problems.

    Imho,the sewage"grinder" pumps installed in the basement floor nor the lift pump in the septic pumping chamber falls under the heading of a sump pump.

    Russell

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •