Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: 400 amp service with 2-200 sub panels

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    434

    400 amp service with 2-200 sub panels

    Ok, I'm putting in a 400 amp single phase 240volt service. I'm putting in a 320amp meter socket. I want to use the tap rules here.From the meter on the other side of the wall a 200 amp panel with a main breaker. Now I want a 200 amp disconnect,outside just below the meter for a house about 150' away. This will have a 200 amp in it with a main breaker. The book says to bond the neutral and the grounding wire at the first disconnect. With my 2 disconnects within 3' from the meter socket what would be the better way to properly ground the system. Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    19,157

    Re: 400 amp service with 2-200 sub panels

    James,
    The service disconnects must be grouped. You can't have one inside and one outside for the same service.
    Don
    Don, Illinois
    "It is the first responsibility of every citizen to question authority." B Franklin

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    133

    Re: 400 amp service with 2-200 sub panels

    Put a 400 amp main breaker panel outside, run two sub panels from there. On in inside, the other to the house. go witha 200 main breaker at the house rather than an mlo

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    434

    Re: 400 amp service with 2-200 sub panels

    So Don, do I need a main disconnect for the 2- 200amp panel? This is what I'm try to get at. If I don't have to put a 400 amp disconnect after the meter this will save the customer a lot of money. So can I install the meter outside and run wires to my first 200 amp panel(sq.d 40 space). Then run another set of wires from the meter to another 200 amp disconnect which will be located next to the other 200 amp Sq. D panel and is for the house about 150' away. the house will have a 200 amp main in the panel(sq.d 40 space). If I can do it like this where would I install my grounding wire and the neutral together. The code says the first disconnect. Does the tap rules apply to this?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    19,157

    Re: 400 amp service with 2-200 sub panels

    James,
    You would bond the neutral in both disconnects and install a grounding electrode conductor to both disconnects. The tap rules do not apply on the line side of the service disconnect. Conductors that are sized for the rating of the disconnect will be fine.
    Don
    Don, Illinois
    "It is the first responsibility of every citizen to question authority." B Franklin

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Portage, Indiana NEC: 2008
    Posts
    9,801

    Re: 400 amp service with 2-200 sub panels

    Jim why are you installing a disconnect at the 320 meter there is no requirment for it as the service conductors will be outside any buildings and you will have to install a disconnect or a main breaker panel at the house anyway and also install an GE also. 230.40 exception #3 allows for this then the panel at the house is treated just like a service panel.
    Wayne A. From: N.W.Indiana
    Be Fair, Be Safe
    Just don't be fairly safe

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Portage, Indiana NEC: 2008
    Posts
    9,801

    Re: 400 amp service with 2-200 sub panels

    As for a better way of grounding. Having main bonding jumper father away from the service panel is not a better system useing 230.40 exception #3 will allow the main bonding jumper to be where it is needed at the house this will allow for a faster operation of breakers in the event of a ground fault since you wont have the long run to the meter disconect. What you are talking about when you are saying grounding is in realality a bond between the neutral and the equipment grounding conductors and the closer you place this bond to the place of the fault the faster the breakers will open. this is because of the resistance of the wire from the house to the meter. Grounding in the term of Earth is the grounding electrode and this has to be installed at the building being served anyway no matter where you put the disconnect. and to top it off you would have to install ether a disconect or main breaker panel at the house even if you install a disconect at the meter.

    [ February 24, 2004, 07:21 PM: Message edited by: hurk27 ]
    Wayne A. From: N.W.Indiana
    Be Fair, Be Safe
    Just don't be fairly safe

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Portage, Indiana NEC: 2008
    Posts
    9,801

    Re: 400 amp service with 2-200 sub panels

    Don where does it say the disconnects has to be grouped when two separate buildings are involved?
    It only says where 6 means of disconnect are required then they have to be grouped. each building will allow 6 means of disconnect each. not 6 for both. Look at 230.71(A)

    [ February 24, 2004, 07:19 PM: Message edited by: hurk27 ]
    Wayne A. From: N.W.Indiana
    Be Fair, Be Safe
    Just don't be fairly safe

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    434

    Re: 400 amp service with 2-200 sub panels

    Good anwsers. Hurk27 The new service is going to be in the country. The person is going to building a large building for his old cars,shop and a show room first. He's also going to build a new house. He wants to build the shop for his cars first and then a month later start building his house. He wants the 200 amp panel(SQ.D 40 space) in his shop so he can work in it and also use the building to work out of when building his new house. So, he wanted a 200 amp disconnect setup so when he builds his house we can just come out of that to his new house. Yes I'll have to pull 4 wire and install another ground rod at the house but I think the setup should be OK. Anymore good ideas?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    19,157

    Re: 400 amp service with 2-200 sub panels

    Wayne,
    In my opinion we only have a single service here and the service disconnets for a single service must be grouped. I guess if Exception #3 to 230.40 applies you would not need "grouped" disconnects. If you are building a "show room", I don't think that this exception applies.
    Don
    Don, Illinois
    "It is the first responsibility of every citizen to question authority." B Franklin

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •