Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: GROUND SCREWS IN METAL JUNCTION BOXES

GROUND SCREWS IN METAL JUNCTION BOXES

Hi guys. I am an apprentice with a question that I have received varying answers. Do metal junction boxes require a grounding screw with pigtail? Several Journeymen have stated that if you run metal conduit, the conduit is considered grounded, thus a ground screw in every j-box is not required (the same answer applies if you're running MC cable). However, 1 guy (the one who I first started with says they are required). I spent 20 years in the US Navy onboard Nuclear Submarines. The manuals for operating a nuclear power plant are not as confusing as the NEC 2002. I do not know if a definitive answer is a viable option but anything would help, especially a code reference. Thanks guys.
    Gary Thomas
    Greenville, SC

Re: GROUND SCREWS IN METAL JUNCTION BOXES

See 250.148(A)

(A) Metal Boxes. A connection shall be made between the one or more equipment grounding conductors and a metal box by means of a grounding screw that shall be used for no other purpose or a listed grounding device.
    Edited to include reference.

[ May 09, 2004, 12:16 PM: Message edited by: ryan_618 ]
    Ryan Jackson, Salt Lake City
    Inspector, Instructor

Thanks. I read that also. o you have any idea where these other guys came up with thier idea that the conduit fulfills the requirement of the ground?
    Gary Thomas
    Greenville, SC

It is not as clear as yes or no.

If you have metal raceway with metal boxes and you do not have spliced or terminated conductors within the box you do not have to install the grounding pigtail.

So a true pull box is not required to have a grounding pigtail. Make it a junction or device box and the box must be connected to the grounding conductor.