Hand Dryer causing voltage drop

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jeff80

I have a very small stand alone restroom where the hand dryer is causing the lights to dim and the emergency lights to turn on due to the voltage drop. The drop is caused by the hand dryer and only lasts a second but what is the fix?

Can I add a capacitor to the hand dryer? How would it wire in to the unit could I put it on the feed to the unit even with the heater and moter down stream? How would I find out the correct size cap? Would the cap be in series or paralell?

Is there a better way?

drbond24

I'm not a capacitor expert, but I don't think this is a situation where they could help. I believe you're thinking a capacitor would provide additional voltage to the dryer so it would require less from the circuit, but where does the capacitor get its voltage from? The circuit. Now you're right back where you started. However, like I said this isn't my area. Others will have more detail on this.

I would think you have a couple options. You could switch for a dryer that doesn't need so much juice, or install a separate circuit for the dryer if it is that big of a problem.

In the end, is it that big of a deal? The lights in my dining room dim when the microwave is being used. I usually use the microwave and then go to the dining room, so it doesn't matter. People usually only dry their hair once a day for a few minutes. Can't they just put up with the dimming?

augie47

Staff member
Occupation
State Electrical Inspector (Retired)
sounds like a lot of voltage drop. Just to satisfy my curiousity can you describe the circuit (wire size, length, etc).
Most of the hand dryers I have seen push the heck out of a 20 amp circuit and pretty much require a dedicated circuit. Sounds like a violation of 210.23 as it is wired.

don_resqcapt19

Staff member
Occupation
retired electrician