Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: 100 amp service to a 125 amp panel

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    4

    100 amp service to a 125 amp panel

    I have come across a set up where 100 amp service terminates to a 125 amp panel. The larger panel seems to be used to accomodate more breakers which power the large amount of lights and outlets in the home. However there are only 60 amps out of the 100 being used.

    Does this config need to be changed? If so why and how?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    N.C.
    Posts
    15,224

    Re: 100 amp service to a 125 amp panel

    Are you saying the service entrance conductors are terminated to a 125 amp OCPD, or is there a 100 amp OCPD installed in a 125 amp rated panel?

    Roger
    Moderator

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    4

    Re: 100 amp service to a 125 amp panel

    A 125 amp rated panel with a 100 amp OCPD as the main and a sub with a 20 or more breakers.

    My apolgies for mixing terminology. Keep me straight.....I'm learning.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    TAMPA FLORIDA
    Posts
    4,576

    Re: 100 amp service to a 125 amp panel

    I see nothing wrong with that installation.Many times the panel is rated far higher than the main breaker,often to get more spaces.
    Tampa Florida

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    4

    Re: 100 amp service to a 125 amp panel

    I again got negative comments about this set up from a pesky inspector.

    Thanks for the reply.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    TAMPA FLORIDA
    Posts
    4,576

    Re: 100 amp service to a 125 amp panel

    Solve them problems in 2 ways.First carry a copy of 2002 nec and second ask him to find the violation in the code book.While he is looking go take lunch.
    Tampa Florida

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    N.C.
    Posts
    15,224

    Re: 100 amp service to a 125 amp panel

    Ask the inspector to explain how you can provide 50 amp fuses for a piece of equipment if you can't provide a fusible switch rated at 60 amps?

    This is the same thing.

    Roger
    Moderator

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    1,029

    Re: 100 amp service to a 125 amp panel

    However there are only 60 amps out of the 100 being used.
    What does this mean?

    Bill

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    7,286

    Re: 100 amp service to a 125 amp panel

    I imagine he means that the total demand load is at 60-amperes on the 100-ampere service.
    Bryan P. Holland, MCP

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    1,823

    Re: 100 amp service to a 125 amp panel

    I'm one inspector who thinks it's ok.

    What were his negative comments?

    I hope things work out in your favor.
    I'm an Inspector, what do I know?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •