Neutral or grounded conductor

Status
Not open for further replies.

RAMSES79

As I've posted I'm studying for my Master electrician exam and I've come across another question I'm not sure about. The question asks, (blank) conductor carries the unbalanced load of a multi-branch circuit. Neutral, grounded, and both were answers. I selected grounded, but when I was checking my answers the key said neutral. Is this really correct? I didn't think a neutral was in the terminology of the code.

ibew441dc

As I've posted I'm studying for my Master electrician exam and I've come across another question I'm not sure about. The question asks, (blank) conductor carries the unbalanced load of a multi-branch circuit. Neutral, grounded, and both were answers. I selected grounded, but when I was checking my answers the key said neutral. Is this really correct? I didn't think a neutral was in the terminology of the code.

Article 100 (2008 NEC)
Neutral Conductor. The conductor connected to the neutral point of a system that is intended to carry current under normal conditions.

210.4(C) (2008 NEC)
Line-to-Neutral Loads. Multiwire branch circuits shall supply only line-to-neutral loads.

Although the addition of the definition of Neutral Conductor is new to the 2008, neutral has been terminology used in the code for as long as I've been around. Even if the exam is on a year prior to the 2008 NEC the answer they are looking for IMO is neutral. However, IMO the best most correct answer is both.

A code compliant neutral conductor is always a grounded conductor, but a grounded conductor is not always a neutral conductor.

Last edited:

Smart $

Esteemed Member
... However, IMO the best most correct answer is both.

A code compliant neutral conductor is always a grounded conductor, but a grounded conductor is not always a neutral conductor.