Thread: Allowable temperature rise in Breakers

Allowable temperature rise in Breakers

I work in a factory maintenance department.
    Recently a thermal imaging contractor came in and scanned all of our panels for hot spots.
    They came up with several breakers that they say are having problems.
    In each of these cases they are 20 ampere 120 volt breakers that have a continuous load of 11 to 15 amperes on them for lighting or some other load.
    I have checked the wire and breakers for any discoloration and nothing is apparent.
    My thoughts on this are there is going to be some heat generated in the breaker and wire with usage, because everything has resistance to some degree.
    What is a normal temperature rise in a breaker under continuous use? The breaker is marked 40 C but I can’t find any data on what that stands for.
    The temperature rise the thermal imaging people documented is from 9 C to 27 C above ambient.
    Thanks for your help.

Re: Allowable temperature rise in Breakers

A 9 degree (C) rise above ambient is not much to worry about, 27 degree rise may be a problem, they should have given you recommended corrective actions for each scan and a reference for the recommendations.

I would compare similar loaded breakers and investigate any major differences, are the hot spots from the contacts or connections?

Their recommendation was to burnish, clean, and tighten the connections. I inspected and tightened the connections and they were already tight and looked clean with no discoloration. I even replaced one breaker just to see if it still gets warm. As of yet, I haven't been back to check it. The thermal imaging picture seems to indicate the heat is coming from inside the breaker, but I couldn't say for sure.
    I would assume there has to be a allowable temperature rise given by breaker manufacturers, but so far I haven't found it.
    Thanks.