Commercial Refridgerator

Status
Not open for further replies.

Thirsty

I ran across a refridgerator the other day with a nameplate stating the unit needed to be protected from overcurrent at 15A maximum. The unit was plugged into a 20A duplex receptacle which was protected by a 20 circuit breaker. The unit is also thermally protected.

I know of no exceptions that allow a themally protected peice of equipment to be protected at anything other than what the nameplate says it has to be (in this case 15A).

We still use the 2005 NEC here in Connecticut but I have never heard of an exception to this since I've been an electrician (<2005 or 2008). Am I wrong to tell management they have a problem here? There are other outlets on the same circuit; so replacing all the outlets to 15A as well as the breaker or running a new circuit is not producing any smiles (if you know what I mean). There are several of these installations throughout the facility so an exception would be very attractive to them.

So, does anyone have any information that would brighten their day?

cowboyjwc

Staff member
I know I may catch some guff for this answer, but here goes anyway. As an inspector I don't care about cord connected (plug in) equipment. Now the reason is this, I go by a job and say that the refer doesn't comply and they say "oh, ok" and unplug it, now it complys.

I know that doesn't help, sorry.

cowboyjwc

Staff member
The Rockies beat the Phillies in game 2 yesterday.

It looks to me like 422.11(A) might require the 15 amp circuit.

db

And the Dodgers win #2 with two outs in the bottom of the ninth. One to go.

For the Mods. It was an electrifying game.:D

And I would have to agree with db above.

augie47

Staff member
Occupation
State Electrical Inspector (Retired)
If it came with a factory cord and plug, I'd have to agree with cowboyjwc. I have enough to worry about with the building wiring. What they plug in after is of no concern.

barclayd