Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Formulas in the NEC Code Book

Formulas in the NEC Code Book

I'm in fourth year electrical school and I have a question: Does anyone know why the formulas for voltage drop, motors, The Wire Wheel, and transformer calculations are not in the NEC Code Book? Does anyone else feel it's a good idea to have these somewhere in the code book? The only answer I've ever recieved, is we should know them by heart before we take the Journeymans Exam. I'm just wondering, since these are so important, why are they not present in the code book.

Thanks in advance for all responses!

Got a pen? Write um in. Its a code book not a math book.

Does anyone else feel it's a good idea to have these somewhere in the code book?
    The information you are asking for is used in designing the system. The code book is not a design manual.

Re: Formulas in the NEC Code Book

Quote Originally Posted by vermathrax
    Does anyone know why the formulas for voltage drop, motors, The Wire Wheel, and transformer calculations are not in the NEC Code Book?
    Yes........well, I think I know.

90.1 Purpose.

(C) Intention.
    This Code is not intended as a design specification or an instruction manual for untrained persons.
    That aside I recommend doing what bikeindy suggested, write the things you want into the blank pages.

Re: Formulas in the NEC Code Book

Quote Originally Posted by iwire
    That aside I recommend doing what bikeindy suggested, write the things you want into the blank pages.
    I agree. Only one note of caution: Most testing agencies won't let you have handwritten notes in your book during a test. You might consider putting them in there with sticky notes so you can peel them out prior to the test.
    Brad Darnell
    Master Electrician -Electrical Contractor
    IN-NJ-WI-CT-LA-OH-KY-TX-FL-NV-GA-TN-MS-OK-IL-NC-AL-KS

"The Code doesn't say what you think it says" - Charles E. Beck, P.E.