old SE - new subpanel

Status
Not open for further replies.

bar714

Im an inspector. I had a contractor replace a subpanel in basement (main disc. outside at service) and reconnected to existing 3 wire SE with uninsulated neutral to the replacement panel (SE length 60' - 70'). I was wondering if anyone would concider the SE to be "existing" and OK the replacement panel? Would anyone allow the contractor to run a separate GEC from water meter to subpanel and to main outside? Or because neutral is uninsulated would it just fail on that basis?

Jim W in Tampa

It is really your call. This is a repair but really should be fixed. Would it be major problem to replase it with 4 conductors ?
If they are adding any circuits then you should tag it as it now is new.

mxslick

First off, welcome to the forums. You'll find a lot of great folks here.

As to this install and your question, IF the panel in question is the ONLY one and the disconnect outside is only feeding that same panel, then it is NOT a subpanel and does not fall under the separate neutral/ground rules.

If it is the only panel then the neutral and ground bars should be tied together and ground rods/water system GEC needs to be present.

If however this panel is fed from another panel where neutral/grounds are bonded together then you are correct that an insulated neutral and separate grounding conductor is required.

Whoo hoo!! Post #1200!!

Last edited:

Jim W in Tampa

First off, welcome to the forums. You'll find a lot of great folks here.

As to this install and your question, IF the panel in question is the ONLY one and the disconnect outside is only feeding that same panel, then it is NOT a subpanel and does not fall under the separate neutral/ground rules.

If it is the only panel then the neutral and ground bars should be tied together and ground rods/water system GEC needs to be present.