Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Isolated grounds

Isolated grounds

I was just wondering how many electricians are installing isolated ground receptacles or circuits for equipment, It seems that back in the 90's there was alot of equipment out there that was specifying an isolated circuit for there equipment, I have to say I don't do as much industrial or commercial that I used to do but I still do some and I can't remember in some time having to install an isolated ground for any equipment. I was told by a pc expert that electronics have come along way and noise in the line isn't as much of a problem as it once was. Does anyone have an opinion on this. Thanks
    (Do the job right boy or don't do it at all.)

IMO A waste of time and materials.

Even if they where beneficial in most applications they become corrupted by incidental contact with 'non' isolated EGCs.

What Bob said.

As an inspector, I see a lot less being spec'd on plans.
    I'm an Inspector, what do I know?

I have to admit more times then not, installations that I have come upon the ground only went to the subpanel and not back to the main, sometimes there were 2 or 3 panels in the line.
    (Do the job right boy or don't do it at all.)

I know what you mean. Some people are under the impression that the isolated receptacle itself is the only requirement. Others don't realize than NM and plastic boxes do the same thing, except for the landing-in-the-subpanel issue.

On the other hand, we're finishing up a restaurant where IG was spec'ed for the POS terminal system and server. I used 12/3 MC and stripped the red to use as the EGC, and the green as the insulated conductor for the IG receptacles.

Cheating? Maybe, but the inspector had no issue with it.
    Code references based on 2005 NEC
    Larry B. Fine
    Master Electrician
    Electrical Contractor
    Richmond, VA

And if the chassis of the POS equipment contacts any stainless steel counters all your work will be for nothing....