How hot is too hot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

tonype

When reviewing a breaker panel, I use an infrared thermometer to take a quick check of temps. Today in a diner, a 2-pole 20-amp breaker (Cutler Hammer) for some item in the kithcen was about 150 degrees F. Never came across this high. Is there any guideline on what may constitute a problem?

WorkSafe

I'm not a electrician...

Stick a amp meter on there and see how much the circuit is drawing. That would be a starting point to see if there is even a problem.

Sierrasparky

Occupation
Electrician ,contractor
I would think your temp is too Hot that close to 70deg. Is the breaker hot to the touch? You need to check the connections, the amperage , the buss.

If all is good then the breaker is failing in my opinion.

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician
What is the normal operating temperature of a standard breaker when all connections are good and it's operating near it's maximum ampacity? Without knowing that I don't see how anyone can answer the question.

rbalex

Staff member
Occupation
Professional Electrical Engineer
Assuming it was applied and installed correctly, common molded case circuit breakers (MCCB) at rated current effectively permit a maximum operating temperature of 90?C (194?F) in a 40?C (104?F) ambient.

tonype

I would think your temp is too Hot that close to 70deg. Is the breaker hot to the touch? You need to check the connections, the amperage , the buss.

If all is good then the breaker is failing in my opinion.

Breaker was hot to the touch.

As an Engineer/inspector, I do not stick stuff in panels - leave it to you guys who are trained for this. Playing on the safe side, I will advise client to have an electrical contractor review this.

jim dungar

Staff member
Occupation
PE (Retired) - Power Systems