Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Reducing lugs?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Western Massachusetts
    Posts
    168

    Reducing lugs?

    Hi Folks, Quick question. I have a situation where I need to get a 2/0 conductor under the terminals of a 100 amp breaker. The larger than normal wire size is due to possible plans for future expansion as well as to compensate for voltage drop due to the length of the run. My question is, do they make a lug or terminal that I could use to neatly reduce the 2/0 to something that will fit better into the breaker, instead of trimming a few strands from the conductor which leaves a less than attractive installation.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Right here.
    Posts
    12,326
    I think that MacAdapt is one brand name. But the short answer is "Sure!", such fittings are made. I thought, perhaps mistakenly, that most 100 amp breakers went up to 2/0.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Miami Fla.
    Posts
    6,887
    Polaris to a smaller size in the enclosure.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Durham, NC
    Posts
    5,224

    Lightbulb

    Quote Originally Posted by chris kennedy
    Polaris to a smaller size in the enclosure.
    I love using a good google / dictionary, here I thought U meant:

    Polaris (Lorna Dane) is a comic book superhero in the Marvel Comics universe, and a member of the X-Men. She first appeared in [Uncanny] X-Men #49 (1968)

    Not an isolation block, I was lost ...
    http://www.polarisconnectors.com/ :rolleyes:
    If your even thirsty, your two quarts low.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Posts
    26,139
    Quote Originally Posted by cadpoint
    an isolation block,
    http://www.polarisconnectors.com/ :rolleyes:

    They also make individual bugs like these:

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Western Massachusetts
    Posts
    168
    Marc, I was under the same assumption, and the label on the breaker indicates 2/0 as well, but trust me when I tell you that it will not fit in there. I would want to say a #1 would fit, maybe a 1/0 with a shoehorn, but the 2/0 won't make it without trimming a few strands.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    48,632
    Quote Originally Posted by racerdave3
    the label on the breaker indicates 2/0 as well, but trust me when I tell you that it will not fit in there.
    I trust you believe that it will not fit.

    It would be very odd if in fact it did not accept the conductors listed on the breaker.

    If after making sure the screw was out as far as possible and making sure the conductor strands where in perfect alignment, not ovaled, etc. it still did not fit I would start to suspect I had a counterfeit imported piece of junk.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Cincinnati
    Posts
    271
    one option would be a crimp on ferrule
    http://www.americanelectrical.com/In...reFerrules.htm

    kinda large wire tho, and i'd try to find one that fits whatever press tool you have
    You can't scare me- I have teenagers

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    San Antonio, Tx.
    Posts
    54
    Ilsco also makes an adapter like the MacAdapt mentioned above.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Asheville, N. C.
    Posts
    408

    Reducing lugs?

    Quote Originally Posted by iwire
    I trust you believe that it will not fit.

    It would be very odd if in fact it did not accept the conductors listed on the breaker.

    If after making sure the screw was out as far as possible and making sure the conductor strands where in perfect alignment, not ovaled, etc. it still did not fit I would start to suspect I had a counterfeit imported piece of junk.
    A big 10/4 iwire! By all means " don't "cut out strands, I have seen to many of these arc and burn the insulation back and also make the breaker go bad and even solder the wire to the breaker. Good joints and tight connections will make for maintenance free installation's. Semper Fi

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •