Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Amperage of an AC Unit

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    12

    Red face Amperage of an AC Unit

    What is the amperage draw of a 6 ton 3 phase Air Conditioning Unit? The voltage is 120/208.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Val Vegas, GA
    Posts
    3,065
    1.1 HP per ton

    I = hp x 746 / 1.732 x E x efficiency x power factor

    Eff = output (HP) / input (primary)

    PF = watts / volt-amps

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    19,471
    Can you determine this without the SEER value?
    Rob

    Chief Moderator

    All responses based on the 2011 NEC unless otherwise noted

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Right here.
    Posts
    12,326
    Quote Originally Posted by dan316
    What is the amperage draw of a 6 ton 3 phase Air Conditioning Unit? The voltage is 120/208.

    Thanks
    What are you calling the "unit". Air handling unit? Condensing unit? Packaged rooftop unit?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Litchfield, CT
    Posts
    8,622
    Looking at the nameplate would be the ONLY way I determine this...
    "Electricity is actually made up of extremely tiny particles called electrons, that you cannot see with the naked eye unless you have been drinking."

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Val Vegas, GA
    Posts
    3,065
    Looking at the nameplate would be the ONLY way I determine this...
    that's what i discovered when trying to work that forumula, but i figured what the heck, let 'em give a shot.

    Can you determine this without the SEER value?
    i would say certainly not.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Right here.
    Posts
    12,326
    Quote Originally Posted by stickboy1375
    Looking at the nameplate would be the ONLY way I determine this...
    Seems like when you ask the HVAC contractor for this information, they say something along the lines of, "Just run what you'd normally run for a 6 ton unit". :grin:

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Litchfield, CT
    Posts
    8,622
    Quote Originally Posted by mdshunk
    Seems like when you ask the HVAC contractor for this information, they say something along the lines of, "Just run what you'd normally run for a 6 ton unit". :grin:

    Yeah... exactly... then for some reason they pull the "I decided to go with this unit instead" :grin:
    "Electricity is actually made up of extremely tiny particles called electrons, that you cannot see with the naked eye unless you have been drinking."

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Val Vegas, GA
    Posts
    3,065
    "I decided to go with this unit instead"
    oh that's classic!

    'bout 3 mo. ago, hvac guy says "i'm putting a 15kw and a 10kw heater in this house."



    this house was about 2300 sq. ft.

    me - "wtf? are you serious?"

    so i pull the appropriate wire to where the units are going to be.

    next day - "um, yeah, i think i'm going w/ a 10kw and 5 kw."

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Litchfield, CT
    Posts
    8,622
    If it's not there, it's not wired... it's that simple... at least for me, I know there are some exceptions to this rule...
    "Electricity is actually made up of extremely tiny particles called electrons, that you cannot see with the naked eye unless you have been drinking."

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •