Thread: SCCR Ratings VFD

SCCR Ratings VFD

I am an Industrial Controls Engineer and I am up to my neck in a project where I am being forced to use circuit breakers per a customer requirement which is a pain when trying to maintain high SCCR rating. My issue is that I have to maintain a min 40kA SCCR for my panel. I have a 480V 3ph VFD that is rated for 100kA SCCR which is great, no problem. Connected to the line terminals, R S and T I have a 65kA rated circuit breaker contactor combination for power control and overcurrent protection, again no problems there. DIRECTLY after the VFD connected to terminals U V and W (motor terminals) I have some safety contactors that are only rated 5Ka. These contactors have to remain in that location due to my category 3 safety circuit requirements. The question is, does the VFD act like a current limiting device since the connections between the line terminals and the motor terminals passes through electronic circuitry (rectifiers etc) and there is no real direct connection? Or am I in trouble here, and my "weakest link" now becomes the safety contactors after the drive at 5kA SCCR??

I have a 480V 3ph VFD that is rated for 100kA SCCR which is great
    Better check with the manufacturer about that 100KA rating. It usually is with some form of current limitation ahead of it, for a combinational rating and not a stand alone.
    The VFD does not offer any type of current limitation, per UL508A, only a fuse or current limiting circuit breaker can do that.
    What amperage is the safety contact. Put a Class CC fuse in front of it, to use table SB4.2 as a combinational rating up to 200KA.
    Just my $.02
    I found my easter eggs & my car keys, life is good!

While the VFD does not act as a current limiter it does act like a new power supply. Ask the VFD manufacturer for the available output short circuit current.
    Just because you can, doesn't mean you should.

Does the VFD have a bypass that goes "around" the inverter output?