Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: panel size

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    New york
    Posts
    77

    panel size

    ok, we know that the maximum number of circuits for a panel is 42.

    Let's say i have a 100 Amp panel and have used all the circuits but still have capacity. Can I buy a panel with main lugs only and connect the busbars to the existing 100 Amp panel provided that the new panel is also 100Amp rated?

    Wires connecting the bus bars will be of adequate size like a #3. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    8,791
    The 42 circuit limitation is per enclosure not per location. What you are describing is often called a "double-tub" panel.

    The general 42 ckt limitation disappears with the 2008 code.
    Just because you can, doesn't mean you should.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    New york
    Posts
    77

    Smile

    Are you saying it is allowed to do it? I have read it somewhere before and i just can't find it again. Thanks for your input.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    17,204
    Yes that is allowed. You won't find it, because there is no need for the code to say that. What it does say is that all conductors must be protected (your new feeder is protectec by the breaker serving the existing panel) and that all panels must be protected (your new panel will be protected by that same breaker).
    Charles E. Beck, P.E., Seattle
    Comments based on 2014 NEC unless otherwise noted.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    9,324
    Quote Originally Posted by rey-man
    ... connect the busbars to the existing 100 Amp panel provided that the new panel is also 100Amp rated?

    Wires connecting the bus bars will be of adequate size like a #3.
    How will the bus connection be made? Drilled/Tapped/Lugs?
    ĦĦĦĦĦĦĦĦĦĦĦĦ
    ««« CELTIC »»»
    ĦĦĦĦĦĦĦĦĦĦĦĦ
    An error on your part does not constitute an emergency on my part.8-)


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    3,254
    Quote Originally Posted by celtic
    How will the bus connection be made? Drilled/Tapped/Lugs?
    I would use a sub feed lug kit.

    [IMG][/IMG]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •