Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: sump pump code

sump pump code

I am a safety manager for telecom company and wonder if there is a NEC code that states a homes sump pump must be plugged into to single outlet recepticle? Some installers are plugging our equipment into duplex outlets and was wondering if this OK?

Quote Originally Posted by mbernh001
    I am a safety manager for telecom company and wonder if there is a NEC code that states a homes sump pump must be plugged into to single outlet recepticle? Some installers are plugging our equipment into duplex outlets and was wondering if this OK?

It's fine depending on where the sump-pump is located, and what year NEC you are going by.
    "Electricity is actually made up of extremely tiny particles called electrons, that you cannot see with the naked eye unless you have been drinking."

Quote Originally Posted by stickboy1375
    It's fine depending on where the sump-pump is located, and what year NEC you are going by.
    Can you quote an article on this? I don't recall any NEC requirements for a dwelling unit sump pump receptacle. :-?

Quote Originally Posted by jrclen
    Can you quote an article on this? I don't recall any NEC requirements for a dwelling unit sump pump receptacle. :-?
    There are none.

But 210.8 (A) will likely come into play.

every cord-and-plug sump i've ever worked w/ had two plugs, but one had a recep on the back of it for the other to plug into; i use a duplex, put one in each so the in-use cover will close. yours only have one plug?

Quote Originally Posted by brantmacga
    every cord-and-plug sump i've ever worked w/ had two plugs, but one had a recep on the back of it for the other to plug into; i use a duplex, put one in each so the in-use cover will close. yours only have one plug?
    You're kidding, right?

You might want to read the instructions next time...