Reasons For Not Giving Free Estimates

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sparky555

1. Gas is pretty expensive.

2. The New Guys advertise free estimates for a year or 2 & then go out of business.

3. Free estimates take a couple hours. I'd rather get paid for those couple hours. If I don't have any work there's always a mountain of paperwork, a truck and garage to clean, or time to enjoy spring, or write stupid things online.

4. If a prospective client gets 3 or more free estimates they'll probably go with the cheapest estimate, or the best salesman. I know I'm not the cheapest & I doubt I'm the best salesman. If I was a really great salesman it would be stupid to be an EC. I could sell $50-100,000 cars on commission.

5.???

Dave

cadpoint

I know I can't afford any, much less many "professional's at my house", I surely don't expect anything for free...

We hired a landscape architect for the kin folk once... I think they talked about everything in yard ....

Get your money's worth ...

Rewire

Sparky555 said:
gas is a part of overhead,driving back and forth from the house ,driving to lunch.
2. The New Guys advertise free estimates for a year or 2 & then go out of business.
What about those who have been in business for many years and still offer free estimates?
3. Free estimates take a couple hours. I'd rather get paid for those couple hours. If I don't have any work there's always a mountain of paperwork, a truck and garage to clean, or time to enjoy spring, or write stupid things online.
50-50 chance of getting work or 0 chance of getting work
4. If a prospective client gets 3 or more free estimates they'll probably go with the cheapest estimate, or the best salesman. I know I'm not the cheapest & I doubt I'm the best salesman. If I was a really great salesman it would be stupid to be an EC. I could sell $50-100,000 cars on commission.

5.???

Dave
Sales is what we do ,if you are not a good "salesman" then I would suggest you work to improve those skills.