THHN/THWN for loudspeakers?

willisrb

Occupation
Elec Engr
Hi Folks, I need a little Code interpretation.
I'm an A/V design engineer and regularly spec individual THHN/THWN conductors for loudspeaker lines in larger facilities as a cost saving measure both in conduit size and cable cost.
For the first time in 40 yrs , I've been questioned as to whether this practice is Code compliant. The EC's position is "Per NFPA 70, Article 725 THHN and THHW are considered a Class 1 wiring method and is not an acceptable wiring method for Class 2 or 3 circuits." They are wanting to charge to upsize the conduit to accommodate PVC jacketed CMR cabling.
My question is does Code article hold for loudspeaker circuits or are these exempt per Chapter 800 Communications Circuits?

hbiss

EC, Westchester, New York NEC: 2014
Occupation
EC
THHN/THWN has always been used , pulled through conduit, for speaker wiring. One example would be movie theaters. Normally I would recommend to have it twisted into pairs but that's not always necessary. I have had reels of 18GA TFFN red and black twisted up and then I pulled it through conduit for Class 1 70.7V speaker wiring.

The EC's position is "Per NFPA 70, Article 725 THHN and THHW are considered a Class 1 wiring method and is not an acceptable wiring method for Class 2 or 3 circuits."

That's just flat out wrong. Look at the hierarchy tables in any of the Chapter 7 and 8 articles. Yes, THHN is a Chapter 3 wiring method suitable for Class 1. But it's at the top of "wire pyramid" and can substitute for any other lesser classes (CL3 and CL2) below it no problem.

Indeed, it may be correct that if you were to use jacketed cables, depending on the number, that you may have to upsize the conduit to maintain fill and pulling tension requirements. So, you are correct that pulling THHN/THWN conductors (weather or not twisted) would keep the conduit diameter to a minimum.

-Hal

Todd0x1