New Isolated Ground

Status
Not open for further replies.
I work as a maintenance electrician in a metal foundry. A new piece of equipment in the lab requires an isolated ground. The panels here are from the 70's and there is no ground system at all beyond the neutral. I am adding an isolated ground bar and pulling a #8 to a ground rod outside. I am installing another ground rod 6' from the other to ensure the resistance is low enough for the sensitive piece of equipment. Can I keep the 8 wire continuous through the 2 ground rods? Does the wire between the 2 rods need to be bare?

ron

Your method of establishing an IG is not compliant. You cant have separate ground rods from the grounding electrode system.

The IG typically is derived at the last N-G bond before the panel you want it at (first upstream transformer or SDS), and gets extended from the N-G bond equipment through the distribution to the one you want it at.

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician
I work as a maintenance electrician in a metal foundry. A new piece of equipment in the lab requires an isolated ground. The panels here are from the 70's and there is no ground system at all beyond the neutral. I am adding an isolated ground bar and pulling a #8 to a ground rod outside. I am installing another ground rod 6' from the other to ensure the resistance is low enough for the sensitive piece of equipment. Can I keep the 8 wire continuous through the 2 ground rods? Does the wire between the 2 rods need to be bare?

You're method is not code compliant and is downright dangerous.

don_resqcapt19

Staff member
Occupation
retired electrician
Can you please explain to me why this is dangerous?
You will have no fault clearing path and in the event of a fault, the non-current carrying parts will be energized and there will be a serious shock hazard if you touch the equipment and are in contact with any grounded item.