jody lane

Status
Not open for further replies.
maybe somebody can help me. i am wanting some info on a case were a lady died by touching a manhole. i want to say that her name is jody lane. what i am lookin for is the court case info because if i remember right i think somebody got sued over this deal.

Rockyd

Occupation
Retired after 40 years as an electrician.
Google is your friend -I typed in "Jody Lane electrocution" and got a plethora of information. Here is the what I got -> Click here.

don_resqcapt19

Staff member
Occupation
retired electrician
You might search the main Mike Holt page. I believe that Mike was on the Jody Lane Foundiation Board at one time.

bob

I've had some experience in the construction of manholes. After reading the information posted by Rockyd, I am having a hard time understanding how the manhole cover is accidentally energized. Can anyone help me?

Ken9876

I belive it's just a matter of time before this same thing happens in my area. Not one street light, traffic signal or other manhole or JB cover is bonded

Ken9876

To make it much worse, many of the old installations the threads on the GRC were never protected so there is no effective ground fault current path anymore from metal poles. Which is why I belive when we have a short in the field wiring to these traffic signals there is so much burnt up equipment.

don_resqcapt19

Staff member
Occupation
retired electrician
Don
Utility companies do not use an EGC, they use the grounded conductor as the 'bond' to the metallic parts.
2-wire installations, they depend on the grounded conductor for fault current, just as we do on the line side of service disconnects. (such as bonding of meterpans to the grounded conductor)