Prefab shop

Status
Not open for further replies.

brantmacga

Señor Member
Occupation
Former Child
We're discussing the idea of starting a prefab shop; I've never done this or worked anywhere that did.

We do mostly fast food restaurants and some small retail here and there.

Where's a good place to start on figuring this out?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

peter d

Well, I have no experience with this, so my opinion is not worth much. But, what are the assemblies you use the most of? It seems you wouldn't have much need for prefab with the kind of work you do, prefab is really geared toward multi family and high rise kind of of installation.

Fulthrotl

~Autocorrect is My Worst Enema.~
We're discussing the idea of starting a prefab shop; I've never done this or worked anywhere that did.

i've worked for large shops that did extensive prefab.

where it works well, is TI office stuff, where they cut MC into whips,
put ends on it, etc.

a common thing was a 4S box on a sheet metal foot, with a box and
ring attached, and a small bent 90 on the sheetmetal to keep it from
flopping back into a 2 1/2" steel stud wall. you shot them down to
the floor thru the bottom track.

scatter.
shoot down.
punch two holes above every box with a stud punch.
throw a precut MC cable box to box.

throw lights up in the grid.
precut MC cable between fixtures
switchleg down to switch box.

shoot up ceiling wires and bundle everything up.
it works well if you are doing floor after floor of suites.

sasco was the undisputed king of this sort of work. they
were the 4th largest EC in the country, and doing it all
on TI work in LA and orange county.

i'm in a lot of fast food restaurants, and i'm wondering
how much good this would do you.

what could you make beforehand that would save you?

cdslotz

Prefab is always a smart thing to do if the job has repetitive situations. We did it in the back of our shop on workbenches, with all of the materials for that particular run.