What am I responsible for renovations

Status
Not open for further replies.

shputnik

Occupation
Expert wirenut installer
I'm new to pulling permits.

I am bidding a remodel in Massachusetts.. I'll be doing work in the bedrooms, kitchen and living room....

Do I need to bring the bathroom up to code....there is no dedicated 20 amp circuit....also no hard-wired smoke detectors...

I was told not to bother the Inspector with questions like that....but I sure as hell don't want surprises

LarryFine

Master Electrician Electric Contractor Richmond VA
Occupation
Electrical Contractor
Here in VA, an entire structure must be brought to current codes only if the remodeling exceeds 50% of the floor area of the structure. Otherwise, only the new work is inspected.

Coppersmith

Occupation
Electrical Contractor

I am bidding a remodel in Massachusetts.. I'll be doing work in the bedrooms, kitchen and living room....

Do I need to bring the bathroom up to code....there is no dedicated 20 amp circuit....also no hard-wired smoke detectors...

I'm not required to bring the building up to current code regardless of how much work I do there. Only the work I did is inspected. There are a couple of minor exceptions: if I do a panel change to a higher amperage, I have to replace 3-wire dryer and range circuits with 4-wire; and occasionally an inspector will require me to upgrade the grounding electrodes. They do technically have to right to look at anything and complain about it, but rarely do.

I was told not to bother the Inspector with questions like that

I don't know what your jurisdiction is like. In mine (plural, I have 19 jurisdictions I deal with) I can call the inspector and ask any question I want and frequently do.

LarryFine

Master Electrician Electric Contractor Richmond VA
Occupation
Electrical Contractor
if I do a panel change to a higher amperage, I have to replace 3-wire dryer and range circuits with 4-wire;