Study Materials for WA License Test

Status
Not open for further replies.

srbtrout

Inactive, Email Never Verified
Hello all, I'm new to the forum. I'm a certified electrician and a licensed C-10 electrical contractor in California, studying to obtain a contractor's license in Washington state. There is no reciprocity agreement, so I must take a test, despite already doing so twice in CA.

Are there any suggestions on specific study materials (other than the NEC) to prepare for the exam? I'm only pursuing residential, not a master's license.

Thanks!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Hello all, I'm new to the forum. I'm a certified electrician and a licensed C-10 electrical contractor in California, studying to obtain a contractor's license in Washington state. There is no reciprocity agreement, so I must take a test, despite already doing so twice in CA.

Are there any suggestions on specific study materials (other than the NEC) to prepare for the exam? I'm only pursuing residential, not a master's license.

Thanks!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

In case you are dont know all the details, here is the deal with WA. They have a residential specialty license which sounds like would be a good fit for you. If you are working for an electrical contractor that would be all you need. If you plan to work for you yourself/have your own biz, you need two more licenses: A electrical contractors license (no test or per-requisites just fees and $4000 bond) and an electrical administrator's license. The administrators test is reputed to be quite hard. I have taken a lot of tests and it is the only test I have failed, but got it the second time around. If you are going for the administrators, my advice would be to get a book that has lots of load calcs and make sure you have it down. The back of the NEC handbook has some examples but you will need more.

tom baker

First Chief Moderator
Staff member
Mike Holts Exam prep is the best.