phantom voltage

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am a student at rosedale technical institute i wired a project for my instructor as a lab grade. iwired a three way switch to a half switched receptacle my project is wired in mc cable with metal boxes on wooden studs the electricity is coming from a gfi receptacle we have an extension cord with the female end cut off and three alligator clips in place for hooking up to our projects. the bottom receptacle is hot all the time the top is switched bottom read 113.7 volts the top reads 113.7 volts when travelers energize the receptacle on top but when one of the three ways turns off the receptacle i see a voltage of 33.5 volts the load is not coming from the neutral i checked that with my meter replaced all three components checked again still seeing the voltage when switches are supposed to have top receptacle off can anyone tell me where my voltage is coming from my instructor is as baffled as i am my original thought was that the voltage was being induced in the mc cable but all boxes switches and receptacle are grounded the circuit is wired properly as the plug tester shows any ideas would be appreciated

Buck Parrish

Chances are the circuit is not wired properly. Is it possible that the cords male end is plugged in wrong. You might flip it over and try it. You know this but the big hole is the neutral in the outlet.

Can you be more specific how you wired it, Do your travlers go from one switch straight to the other. Or in a light box.

It's a slow night here , come on back with more details. We will fix it so you will get an A+.
Then may be your instructor will get a video from Mike Holt on Harmonics. That will make for some interesting class discussion.

Like the big lady told me. When I asked her what was wrong. She says " Their be a SHORTAGE goin on" "We's got a SHORTAGE" in hare.

iwire

Staff member
Chances are the circuit is not wired properly.