Service drop wire size

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am upgrading a duplex to 200 amp service in each apt. There is one service drop into a dual meter base. I am trying to determine the correct wire size from the drop into the base. I am getting conflicting info from an inspector. I say 700 kcmil. He says only needs to be 500 kcmil aluminum. I am fairly new in the trade and want to make sure I am doing this correctly. Thanks in advance for any tips.

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor
The inspector is using 240.4(B) which allows you to upsize to the next breaker size however there are no breakers in this case. 500 kcm copper is sufficient would be my guess because the service conductors only need to be as large as the calculated load- if I am not mistaken.

Do you have load calcs for each unit?

The calculated load is 120 per unit. Customer wants 200 amp service per unit even though it is not really necessary 125 would be sufficient. But if I’m doing 200 amp service in each unit the way I see it add the two together which would be 400 amps total. I’ve never done a double meter base yet.

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
So are you talking copper or aluminum. You cannot use the 90C column for ampacity, you are stuck with the 75C column

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
An inspector told me 350 Kim copper or 500 Kim aluminum. Does this sound correct for this situation is what I’m trying to determine.

Yes, it is compliant but that does not give the owner the possibility of using 200 amps each. If the total calculated load is 240 amps totals then 500 kcm aluminum is good for 310 amps and is sufficient

The calculated load is 120 per unit. Customer wants 200 amp service per unit even though it is not really necessary 125 would be sufficient. But if I’m doing 200 amp service in each unit the way I see it add the two together which would be 400 amps total. I’ve never done a double meter base yet.