120/240 volt 3 phase

Status
Not open for further replies.

Greg1707

Occupation
Business owner Electrical contractor
I have drawings for a coffee shop. The electrical riser diagram shows 120/240 volt 3 phase. I have little experience with 3 phase but I am more familiar with 120/208. Any information would be helpful.

Hv&Lv

Occupation
Engineer/Technician
It’s either an open or closed 240 delta bank. Usually for a mixture of single phase 120/240 loads and three phase 240V loads.

Remember, in the breaker the high leg in the middle. On the meterbase the high leg on the right.
You screw up and put the high leg on the left or right of the breaker panel your lights and single phase stuff won’t last long.

__dan

120/240 V 3 phase is a red leg delta system. The 120 volt loads can only be served from one phase of the three phase primary., and if all the load was single phase you could not use more than x % of the tranny rated kVA.

For a coffee shop a red leg delta would be the wrong transformer. You would have to confirm, either the drawing is wrong and the system is 120/208 Y, will be Y. If they have or think they want a red leg delta for a coffee shop, their idea of what they want should change.

Hv&Lv

Occupation
Engineer/Technician
120/240 V 3 phase is a red leg delta system. The 120 volt loads can only be served from one phase of the three phase primary., and if all the load was single phase you could not use more than x % of the tranny rated kVA.

For a coffee shop a red leg delta would be the wrong transformer. You would have to confirm, either the drawing is wrong and the system is 120/208 Y, will be Y. If they have or think they want a red leg delta for a coffee shop, their idea of what they want should change.

Two legs for single phase applications. They are 180 out. The wild leg is for the three phase.
on a phasor the voltages look (0, 180, and either 90 or 270) depending on the phase of the wild leg.
currents on single phase also will line up 180 out.