Sizing of Three Phase

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi, I recently graduated as an Electrical Engineer so I'm new to the industry. The original load computation was a single phase but due to the additional motors, we switched it to 230V Single Phase, Line to Line. I've had a conversation with the Engineer of the Distribution Company and they said that I need to use a 3 - 37.5 KVA transformer. I was thinking that it is better to use a 2 - 50 KVA because it was more economical but my boss said that I should better follow and listen to the engineer to avoid the blame game. The decision to use 3 - 37.5 KVA is final but I just want to clear if it is an overkill or just the right size of transformer for the load computation because my curiosity kills me . The highest phase current of my 230 V 3 Phase line to line system is 170.37 A.​

topgone

Clue: What if you lose one of you transformers?

If you lose 1 of the 3 X 37.5, you can still operate your three-phase loads! Here's why: Total capacity = 3 X 37.5 kVA = 112.5 kVA;
Lose 1, the total capacity will be 57% of the total (if you banked the three single-phase transformers (37.5 kVA) = 112.5 X 0.57 = 64.5 kVA! Your requirement was = sqrt(3) X 170.37 X 230 = 68 kVA!
But, if you have 2 X 50 and you lost 1 transformer, you will be left with 50 kVA 3-phase transformer, which might not be enough of your needs!
Follow the "engineer" and live with no worries, IMHO.

Clue: What if you lose one of you transformers?

If you lose 1 of the 3 X 37.5, you can still operate your three-phase loads! Here's why: Total capacity = 3 X 37.5 kVA = 112.5 kVA;
Lose 1, the total capacity will be 57% of the total (if you banked the three single-phase transformers (37.5 kVA) = 112.5 X 0.57 = 64.5 kVA! Your requirement was = sqrt(3) X 170.37 X 230 = 68 kVA!
But, if you have 2 X 50 and you lost 1 transformer, you will be left with 50 kVA 3-phase transformer, which might not be enough of your needs!