Wiring method and depth near pool

Status
Not open for further replies.

dhalleron

I am still learning about pools before I do this residential install next week. It meets permanently installed swimming pool criteria.

I believe I understand the #8 awg solid bonding of the motor, metal, ground ring and bonding of the water. I understand the required distances for the gfci protected pump receptacle (not twist lock) and other wiring.

2014 article 680.10 confuses me some unless there is another article that answers my question.

My question is for the pool pump can I install GFCI protected 12/2 UF cable buried 12 inches deep if all of the circuit is kept at least 5 feet from the pool and the pump receptacle is 10 feet from the pool wall?

680.10 says I need to install in conduit if closer than 5 feet and doesn't seem to allow 12 inches deep UF if GFCI protected from the main panel.

680.10 Underground Wiring Location. Underground
wiring shall not be permitted under the pool or within the
area extending 1.5 m (5 ft) horizontally from the inside
wall of the pool unless this wiring is necessary to supply
pool equipment permitted by this article. Where space limitations
prevent wiring from being routed a distance 1.5 m
(5 ft) or more from the pool, such wiring shall be permitted
where installed in complete raceway systems of rigid metal
conduit, intermediate metal conduit, or a nonmetallic raceway
system. All metal conduit shall be corrosion resistant
and suitable for the location. The minimum cover depth
shall be as given in Table 680.10.

truck41trouble

If you keep it at least 5 feet away from the pool wall, then this will just be treated as a normal underground branch circuit. I do recommend running conduit though, especially in the vicinity of a pool. Its always possible a deck will be built after the fact, and people sticking weird decorations in the ground. I know the code says differently, but its just a recommendation.

Sent from my VS987 using Tapatalk