26kv versus 13.5 kv

Status
Not open for further replies.
I live in a small town on the ocean in S Florida. Our little town (30,000)has its its own utilty which has been run into the ground by idiots and deferred maintenance. Currently the system has 3 segments, 1 is 26kv, another is 13.5 kv and the remainder is 4 kv. A consultant brought in by the city wants to upgrade all to 26 kv. From my research I have found out that only 2 other cities in Florida (Key West and Jacksonville) exclusively use this voltage. I have no knowledge of high voltage distribution but it stands to reason that it is not the standard in Florida. Basically I would like some opinions on whether this is a good idea or will the 35 million in taxpayer (bond) money bring us a problem (oddball) system. Thanks in advance for your time.
David

bob

Re: 26kv versus 13.5 kv

Dave
Most utilities are moving away from 4 kv distribution. 13.2 and 12.46 kv are more of a standard that the 26 kv. I think that it is a good idea to move toward converting the system to one voltage. You don't have to do it all at once. I generally recommend a conversion when voltage problems occur. That usually occurs in the 4 kv section. The advantage of one voltage is the you don't have to maintain an inventory for the 3 voltages. How big an area do you cover?

rick hart

I would suggest you go with a standard distribution voltage that is common with other utilities, whatever that might be. That would make sharing agreements easier in case you needed switches, transformers, etc. Ever need those in a hurry in S. Florida by the ocean?
13.2KV is at the top end of medium voltage (15KV)ratings, 26KV is a whole different classification with its own rules.

Bob
The city of Lake Worth is 6.5 sq miles. We are surrounded by Florida Power and Light who use 13.5 kv.