How important is the photometric calc?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Defenestrator

Occupation
Electrical Engineer
I'm an engineer,

It seems so often that designs are so rushed that there isn't enough time to do a proper photometric analysis, we just pick the same fixture style and spacing that we did for the last job and pick the lumen package that falls in the middle of the range. How big of a deal is this? Will anybody ever hold our feet to the fire if the average fc is 35 and not 40?

I understand some owners have fc requirements but how often does this thing actually get checked?

ron

The avg consulting firm is not doing a photometric point to point calculation. They are lucky if they are even doing a zonal cavity calculation on a large space.

If you use the same spacing or the recommended spacing from the data sheet, the fc levels are so close that visually, the inconsistency in the human eye from one person to another will never tell the difference.

If you are cutting it really close for egress lighting, then you may need to do it a those very low levels. Or if you have specific numbers to prove on a zoning board application for exterior lighting for cutoff at the property line, there also you may need to prove it.

Defenestrator

Occupation
Electrical Engineer
The avg consulting firm is not doing a photometric point to point calculation. They are lucky if they are even doing a zonal cavity calculation on a large space.

If you use the same spacing or the recommended spacing from the data sheet, the fc levels are so close that visually, the inconsistency in the human eye from one person to another will never tell the difference.

If you are cutting it really close for egress lighting, then you may need to do it a those very low levels. Or if you have specific numbers to prove on a zoning board application for exterior lighting for cutoff at the property line, there also you may need to prove it.