T-Tapping Question

Status
Not open for further replies.
I was wondering what the true definition of T-Tapping is. Only branching off once to another area or device? Tying several wires together all going to different areas or devices? The reason I ask I have electricians running my FPLP wire for me now for fire alarm and they seem to want to just branch off to each SLC device. My panel allows for T-Tapping(If what they are is even considered that) but I've never done it this way before and really don't care for it. I will Tap if they add a device later or if I'm going between floors but never tie several wires(as many as 8 that I've seen) together each headed to different devices...Just the way I was taught.

Thanks for any replies

PS: Great forum BTW

iwire

Staff member
In some cases it is allowed but I think it is a crappy way to go. Troubleshooting it later would be a pain in the neck.

ISSLDR

T-TAP

T-TAP

If the panel allows multiplexing and the devices being added has a serial number or uses a multiplexer requiring a serial number it works okay. We use a system that allows a polling loop and you can T-TAP or STAR as long as the devices added use a serial number for tracing the device.

Strathead

Occupation
Electrician/Estimator/Project Manager/Superintendent