Combination Arc Fault

Status
Not open for further replies.
NEC 210.12 will require combination arc faults for bedrooms beginning January 1, 2008. Please explain what is a combination arc fault in contrast to a brranch circuit arc fault? Are these items now on the market and readily available? I have heard that the combination arc faults do not work properly if wired in series. Help! I'm a residential inspector!:-?

raider1

Staff member
Here is a link to NEMA and a FAQ page dealing with AFCI's.

I personally haven't seen any combination AFCI breakers avaliable at my local supply house, but there are some manufacturers that state they have them avaliable.

Chris

Ron Kepner said:
NEC 210.12 will require combination arc faults for bedrooms beginning January 1, 2008. ... Help! I'm a residential inspector!:-?

Does your AHJ actually adopt the new NEC on Jan 1? Here in Oregon it is usually April or May of code change year.

davidr43229

This week, I was at a Trade Show, where Square D had literature on Combination AFCI:
http://www.squared.com/us/products/circuit_breakers.nsf/unid/617D2D6F3F84CFB6852571F1005D526F/$file/comboafciFrameset.htm
It's a combination of an ACFI and GFCI covering the full range of Arc Faults.
While some states (2) have delcaired they will adopted the 2008 NEC, they have made an exception regardling AFCI's
Just my $.02

iwire

Staff member
Jack Maynard said:
Does your AHJ actually adopt the new NEC on Jan 1? Here in Oregon it is usually April or May of code change year.

Jack the rule is actually in the 2005 NEC, as long as an area is using the un-amended 2005 NEC the requirement for combination AFCIs takes effect.

Check out 2005 - 210.12

Chris6245

davidr43229 said:
This week, I was at a Trade Show, where Square D had literature on Combination AFCI:
http://www.squared.com/us/products/circuit_breakers.nsf/unid/617D2D6F3F84CFB6852571F1005D526F/$file/comboafciFrameset.htm